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ELIGIBILITY UNDER SECTION 1931 OF THE ACT
The State covers low-income families and children under section 1931 of the Act.
The following groups were included in the AFDC State plan effective July 16, 1996:
_Xx_ Pregnant women with no other eligible children.

_Xx  AFDC children age 18 who are full-time students in a secondary school or in the
equivalent level of vocation or technical training.

In determining eligibility for Medicaid, the agency uses the AFDC standards and
methodologies in effect as of July 16, 1996, without modification.

X In determining eligibility for Medicaid, the agency uses the AFDC standards and
methodologies in effect as of July 16, 1996, with the following modifications.

The agency applies lower income standards which are no lower than the AFDC
standards in effect on May 1, 1988, as follows:

X The agency applies higher income standards than those in effect as of July 16,
1996, increased annually each January 1 since July 16, 1996, by the percentage

increase in the CPI-U.

Effective beginning 1/1/07 Family Size Need Standard Need Standard

2007
a. Adult Included (AI/UP/INCAP) 2 $914 $1,178
3 1,028 1,325
4 1,142 1,472
5 1,256 1,619
each additional 114 146
b. ANI 1 $ 503 648
2 617 795
3 731 942
4 845 1,089
each additional 114 146
& Single Adult $ 573 738
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The agency applies higher resource standards than those in effect as of July 16, 1996,
increased by no more than the percentage increases in the CPI-U since July 16, 1996, as

follows:

X The agency uses less restrictive income and/or resource methodologies than those in
effect as of July 16, 1996, as follows:

Less Restrictive Income Standards:

a. Either $150 plus 33 percent of all earned income, or $90 plus $30 and 1/3 (if
applicable) as provided in the AFDC State plan, whichever is greater. This
applies to all recipients without regard to duration of the disregard (applicants still
receive the $90 disregard as provided under the AFDC state plan).

b. Diversion payments made under Alaska Statute 47.27.026 are exempt as income
in both the 185% gross income test and the final income eligibility determination.

& Charitable contributions are exempt from countable income up to $300 per
calendar quarter.

d. The earned income of a child who is enrolled at least half time in secondary
school is exempt in both the 185% gross income test and the final eligibility
determination.

e Non-recurring lump sum payments are exempt as income, however, they remain a
resource if retained.

& Educational income used for educational purposes is exempt. Unless exempt
under other Federal statutes, all other educational income is prorated over the
period of intended use or counted as income in the month received, whichever is
to the individual's advantage.

g Beginning November 1, 2001, child support payments made by a parent for or on
behalf of a child living in a separate household are deducted from the countable
income of that parent's household.

h. Dividend and benefit payments received from the Alaska Permanent Fund
Dividend Program are exempt from countable income.

i; Disregard income equal to the difference between the July 16, 1996 need standard
as increased by the cumulative percentage increase in the SSI COLA and the
current need standard.
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Less Restrictive Income Standards —con’t:

P Beginning July 1, 2009, all AmeriCorps payments, including living stipends, are
disregarded as income for purposes of determining eligibility.
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Less Restrictive Resource Standards

a. Resource standard is $2,000 per household, $3,000 for households that
include an adult age 60 or older.

b. When determining countable resources, the total value of a motor vehicle
is disregarded if the motor vehicle is used for family transportation
necessary to meet basic needs, including obtaining food, medical care,
other essentials, or for transportation to or from school, work, or training.
The total value of a motor vehicle is also disregarded if necessary when
the vehicle is used as the family's home, to transport a disabled family
member, to produce self-employment income, or for a family member to
participate in a work activity approved by the Alaska Division of Public
Assistance. If there are no vehicles owned that are used for the purposes
stated above, the first $1500 in equity of one motor vehicle is excluded as
a resource.

G Dividend and benefit payments received from the Alaska Permanent Fund
Dividend Program are excluded from consideration as resources.

d. Real property is exempt as long as it is actively up for sale.

The income and/or resource methodologies that the less restrictive methodologies
replace are as follows:

$90 plus $30 and 1/3 earned income disregard for four months.

$1,500 of the value of a motor vehicle was disregarded as a resource.
No exemption for charitable contributions.

Complex rules on counting or exempting income for different tests and
different periods based on source of income and full time or part time

student status.

Excess averaging of non-recurring lump sum payments.
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Educational income was exempt if it is paid under conditions that preclude
its use for day-to-day living expenses. Other educational income was
counted as income in the month of receipt.

No income deduction for child support payments made by a member of the
household.

Resource standard of $1,000 per household.

Real property is exempt for up to 9 months if actively up for sale. If not
sold within that time, the property reverts to a resource.

The agency terminates medical assistance (except for certain pregnant women and
children) for individuals who fail to meet TANF work requirements.

X The agency continues to apply the following waivers of provisions of Part A of
title IV in effect as of July 16, 1996, or submitted prior to August 22, 1996 and
approved by the Secretary on or before July 1, 1997.

The waiver for the Alaska Summer Youth Employment and Training Project that
included:

allowing the State to add an additional income disregard of any payments
received under the JTPA Title I[I-B Summer Youth Employment and
Training Programs;

allowing the State to exclude from resources for AFDC any payments
received under the JTPA Title II-B Summer Youth Employment and
Training Programs;

allowing the State to exclude from income JTPA Title II-B Summer Youth
Employment and Training Programs in determining whether the income of
a family exceeds 185 percent of the State’s standard of need; and

allowing the State to provide AFDC-UP benefits disregarding JTPA Title
II B Summer Youth Employment and Training programs when applying
the 100-hour rule or the 30-day unemployment requirement.
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