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Thank you for your interest in the Alaska Pioneer Homes. 
This booklet provides information regarding admission 
into and discharge from a Pioneer Home. Some of the 
most frequently asked questions regarding admission 
and discharge are listed below. 

Admissions & Forms 

1. Who can apply for admission to the Alaska Pioneer
Homes?
An applicant is eligible for admission to a Pioneer Home
on a space-available basis if the applicant:

• Is a resident of the state under 7 AAC 74.035;*

• Has been a resident of the state continuously for at
least one year immediately preceding application
and maintains residency in the state while on any
waiting list for admission to a Pioneer Home;

• Is in need of the aid, benefit, or safety of a Pioneer
Home because of a physical disability or other
reason, as defined in AS 47.55.900**;

• Is 65 years of age or older; and either
a. Agrees to pay the appropriate monthly rate set

out in 7 AAC 74.025(a) ; or 
b. If not financially able, applies to the

department for payment assistance. 
*7 AAC 74.035. Residence requirements (a) Except for certain allowed absences, to
be considered a state resident, a person must be physically present in the state for 
at least 185 days of each year, with the intent to remain in the state indefinitely and 
to make a home in the state. 

**AS 47.55.900 (3) physical disability or other reason means inability of an 
individual to maintain a household without regular assistance in shopping, 
housekeeping, meal preparation, dressing, or personal hygiene because of physical 
or medical impairment, infirmity, or disability. 

Frequently Asked Questions 
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2. How does someone apply for admission?
Any person 65 years or older can submit a completed
application for admission to an Alaska Pioneer Home.
Applications may be turned in to any of the six Pioneer
Homes or mailed/turned in to the Division of Alaska
Pioneer Homes Central Administrative Offices, located
on the 7th floor of the State Office Building in Juneau.
You may also fax to (907) 465-4108.

3. Where are the Pioneer Home applications for
admission available?
Application forms are available at:
a. Any of the six Pioneer Homes;
b. The Central Administrative Office of the Division of

Alaska Pioneer Homes*;
c. The Pioneer Homes website:

dhss.alaska.gov/daph/pages/admissions
*To receive an application by mail, please call (907) 465-4416 or write to the 
Division of Alaska Pioneer Homes Central Administrative Office address listed 
at the end of this booklet. 

4. Are any other forms required?
To be placed on the active branch of the waiting list,
applicants must have a qualified medical practitioner
complete History & Physical Examination Report
(H&P) and Certificate of Need forms. Also, in order
to verify eligibility to remain on the waiting list, an
eligibility verification form is mailed to each applicant
and must be completed annually.

5. Are there Medicare Part A & Part B enrollment
requirements?
Admission to a Pioneer Home requires an applicant to
provide proof of Medicare Part A and Part B coverage
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under the Social Security Act. Or, provide proof of 
comparable medical insurance with coverage as 
extensive as provided by Medicare Parts A and B. If an 
applicant does not have either coverage, the applicant 
is required to provide proof that she/he applied during 
the last open Medicaid enrollment period. 

 
6.   Can applicants select which Pioneer Home in which 

they wish to reside? 
Yes, the admission application form asks applicants to 
select which Pioneer Home(s) they wish to reside in. 
If more than one Home is selected, choices are ranked 
by the applicant in order of preference. Applicants may 
alter their Home choices at any time with a written 
request. 

 

7. How are applicants selected for admission? 
Applicants are selected for admission on a “first-come, 
first-serve” basis. The date and time an application is 
received is the application date for that person. When 
a vacancy becomes available in a particular level of 
service, the applicant offered admission is the first 
person requiring that level of service on the “active” 
waiting list. This applicant will have the earliest date of 
application and his/her service needs will match those 
of the services available at the Pioneer Home in which 
the vacancy exists. If a vacancy exists in a semi-private 
room, the applicant’s gender must also be considered, 
in addition to level of service and date of application. 

 
8.   What happens if an applicant declines an offer of 

admission to a Pioneer Home? 
When an applicant declines an offer of admission, the 
applicant’s name is transferred to the inactive waiting 
list. The applicant must remain on the inactive waiting 
list at least 180 days before applying for a transfer back 
to the active waiting list. 
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Waitlist Information 

1. How is waiting list placement determined?
Placement on the waiting list is determined by the date
and time a completed application is received at the
Central Administrative Office of the Division of Alaska
Pioneer Homes.
Once the date and time of receipt of a completed
application is established, it is permanently retained
with the application. However, incomplete applications
are considered pending and are returned to applicants
for completion.

2. What is the difference between the “active” and
“inactive” branches of the waiting list?
On the admission application, applicants are asked
to choose between the “active” and “inactive” waiting
lists. These two lists serve to sort applicants into two
groups. The active list is for those who are ready to
enter a Pioneer Home of their choice within thirty
days of receiving an admission invitation. Those who
are not ready to enter a Pioneer Home are on the
inactive waiting list.
Invitations to enter a Pioneer Home are only offered
to those on the active waiting list. Applicants on the
inactive waiting list, when they are ready to accept an
offer of admission to a Pioneer Home, are required
to submit a written statement to the Pioneer Home’s
Central Office. The original date of application remains
the same when an individual is on either the active or
inactive waiting list.
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3.   How do applicants transfer between the active and 
inactive waiting list? 
Applicants send a written request to transfer 
between waiting lists. Any time a name is transferred 
between lists, a letter is sent to the applicant to 
confirm the action. Applicants are not penalized for 
transferring between the active and inactive waiting 
lists. However, when an applicant transfers from 
the active to the inactive waiting list after declining 
admission, they must remain on the inactive list for 
at least 180 days before requesting a transfer back 
to the active list. The original application date 
remains the same no matter how many times the 
applicant transfers between lists. 

 
4.   Does an applicant need to reapply every year? How 

long can an applicant remain on the waiting list? 
Unless an applicant chooses to withdraw his/her 
application, is deceased, or becomes ineligible due to a 
non-allowable absence from the state, the applicant’s 
name remains on the waiting list until he/she is 
admitted to a Pioneer Home. Each applicant is sent 
an eligibility verification form annually, completion 
of which is required by state regulation. The purpose 
of this is to determine that the applicant is still an 
Alaska resident and has not left the state for a longer 
period than the allowable intervals. The applicant 
must complete and return these forms to the Central 
Administrative Office of the Division of Alaska Pioneer 
Homes in Juneau. 
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5.   May applicants go outside of Alaska and still remain 
on the waiting list? 
Yes, once an application has been approved, an 
applicant may go outside of Alaska for up to 180 days 
during a 12 month period. 

 
6.   What if an applicant must go outside of Alaska for 

more than 180 days? 
Being outside of Alaska for 181 days or more will 
result in removal from the waiting list unless the 
absence is for an allowable reason. Allowable 
absences include those for medical treatment or 
long term care. In order to verify that treatment 
or care is necessary, a statement from a qualified 
medical practitioner must be provided to the Central 
Administrative Office of the Division of Alaska 
Pioneer Homes. There is another provision in the 
regulations concerning absences from the state, 
which allows an out-of-state “sabbatical” for 181- 
365 days in any five-year period. Certain procedures 
must be followed for allowable absences. For further 
information on allowable absences from the state, 
please contact the Central Administrative Office of 
the Division of Alaska Pioneer Homes. 

 
7.   What happens if an applicant moves into a 

Pioneer Home and then decides to move out soon 
after? Does the applicant keep his/her original 
application date or must he/she reapply? 
If an applicant accepts placement in a Pioneer Home 
and then moves out, they must complete a new 
application and will receive a new application date. 
The applicant will be placed on the waitlist upon 
receipt of a new application. 
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Types of Service 
 

1.   What are the service levels? 
 

Certain services are grouped into categories of service 
levels. There are three service levels for residents in 
the Alaska Pioneer Homes. Each resident receives care 
based on a comprehensive assessment that identifies 
them for placement within one particular service level: 

 
• Level I services include the provision of housing, 

meals, emergency assistance and opportunities 
for recreation. Level I services do not include staff 
assistance with activities of daily living, medication 
administration, or health-related services, 
although the Alaska Pioneer Home Pharmacy may 
supply prescribed medications. 

 
• Level II services include the provision of housing, 

meals, and emergency assistance; and, as stated in 
the resident’s assisted living plan, staff assistance, 
including assistance with activities of daily living, 
medication administration, recreation, and health- 
related services. Assistance provided by a staff 
member includes supervision, reminders, and 
hands-on assistance, with the resident performing 
the majority of the effort. During the night 
shift, the resident is independent in performing 
activities of daily living and capable of self- 
supervision. 

 
• Level III services include the provision of housing, 

meals, and emergency assistance; and, as stated in 
the resident’s assisted living plan, staff assistance, 
including assistance with activities of daily living, 
medication administration, recreation, and health- 
related services. Assistance provided by a staff 
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member includes hands-on assistance, with 
the staff member performing the majority of 
the effort. The resident may receive assistance 
throughout a 24-hour day, including the provision 
of care in a transitional setting. 

 
2 .  How is the service level determined for each 

resident? 
During the admissions process, applicants, or their 
representatives, are involved in a comprehensive 
assessment of the prospective resident’s needs. 
Applicants are asked about their individual needs for 
assistance as well as their abilities. 
A service level is selected based on this assessment. 
The Pioneer Home staff strives to match each 
prospective resident’s needs and abilities with the 
most appropriate services. Information on admission 
to a Pioneer Home begins on page 2 of this booklet. 
Services within a service level are further tailored to 
meet a resident’s individual needs. A service contract 
and an assisted living plan are then developed with 
each resident or resident’s representative. Each 
resident, or representative, receives a copy of these 
documents. The assisted living plan is reviewed at 
regular intervals to adapt to the changing needs of 
residents. 
A Pioneer Home will make reasonable efforts to provide 
the proper service level to residents who require the same 
or a different service level after being admitted. However, 
a Pioneer Home cannot guarantee that all service levels 
will be available to every resident. Availability or service 
levels are subject to the funding, facilities, and staff that 
are available at each of the homes. 
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Pioneer Home Rates 
 
 

1.   What amount do residents pay for care? 
There is a designated monthly rate for each service 
level. There are also additional fees for certain 
supplies and any medications acquired from the 
Alaska Pioneer Home Pharmacy. Monthly rates are 
determined by regulation and are subject to change. 
Under current statute, no one can be evicted from a 
Alaska Pioneer Home if they are unable to pay the 
monthly rates. For further information regarding 
assistance to pay rates in a Pioneer Home, see our 
Payment Assistance booklet 

 
2.   What is charged for a bed in the Pioneer Home? 

There are three levels of service available to Pioneer 
Home residents. Each level of service has a different 
monthly rate. The current rates established on July 1, 
2009 are: 

 

Level I Services   $2,350 per month 
Level II Services  $4,260 per month 
Level III Services $6,170 per month 

 
Other programs which may be available for Level III 
applicants on the active wait list: 

 

Day Services $70 per day 
Respite Services $100 per day 

 
If an applicant believes they are unable to pay the full 
cost of care to reside at a Pioneer Home they may 
apply for a Medicaid Waiver. If they are not approved 
for a Medicaid Waiver, they may then apply for 
Payment Assistance to cover the full cost of care. 
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3. Will these rates change?
The Pioneer Home rates are determined by regulation 
and are subject to change. However, any rate change 
proposal requires a public hearing. The actual cost of 
providing each level of service is higher than the rates 
which are presently being charged. 

4 .  What is the charge to a resident if the service level 
changes during the month? 
If the service level changes during the month, 
the resident is charged the daily rate for the total 
number of days spent in each service level during 
the month. 

5 .  What if a Pioneer Home resident needs short-term 
24-hour care? 
Some Pioneer Homes have a limited number of 
transitional beds for residents who require 24-hour 
care due to a temporary change in condition, such as 
a need for additional care following hospitalization. 
These beds are not meant to substitute for necessary 
hospital or rehabilitative care, and use is based upon 
availability and staffing. The number of consecutive 
days a resident may receive 24-hour care while 
occupying a transitional bed is limited to 45 days, 
based on applicable assisted living statutes. After 45 
days, the resident is assigned a new level of service 
that best meets his/her ongoing needs. 
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Transfers & Discharge 
 

1.   Can a Pioneer Home resident be discharged from a 
Pioneer Home? 
Every Pioneer Home resident voluntarily resides in the 
home, and is free to reside elsewhere at any time. 
Pioneer Homes are licensed by the state as assisted 
living homes. A resident may be involuntarily discharged 
from an assisted living home under certain conditions. 
These are as follows (Alaska Assisted Living statute AS 
47.33.360): 
An assisted living home may not terminate a residential 
services contract with a resident of the home against the 
resident’s will, except: 
a. For medical reasons; 
b. For engaging in a documented pattern of conduct 

that is harmful to the resident, other residents, or 
staff of the home; 

c. For violation of the terms of the residential services 
contract, including failure to pay costs incurred 
under the contract*; 

d. When emergency transfer out of the home is ordered 
by the resident’s physician; 

e. When the home is closing; 
f.  When the home can no longer provide or arrange 

for services in accordance with the resident’s needs 
and the resident’s assisted living plan. 

Except in cases of emergency transfer, as ordered by the 
resident’s physician, the Home provides 30 days written 
notice of the proposed discharge to the resident or the 
resident’s representative. If discharge is not due to medical 
reasons, a case conference regarding the discharge occurs 
if requested by the resident or the resident’s representative. 
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The Home cooperates with the resident and, if applicable, 
the resident’s service coordinator and the resident’s 
representative in making arrangements to relocate 
the resident. 
*This clause applies only to a resident who is able to pay but is unwilling to 

do so (see this section #3 pg. 14). 
 

2.   What are examples of circumstances which could 
result in a Pioneer Home resident being discharged? 
A resident could be discharged if he/she: 
a.  Has a communicable, contagious, or infectious 

disease that would threaten the health, safety or 
welfare of other residents; 

b. Has a behavior problem that would threaten his/ 
her own health, safety or welfare or that of other 
residents or staff; 

c.  Has a medical need for health care services beyond 
those which are provided by a Pioneer Home, as a 
licensed assisted living facility. Examples of health 
services not normally provided by a Pioneer Home 
include: 

 
1.  Care of new tracheostomy (breathing tube) 

or gastrostomy (feeding tube) 
 

2.  Care of persons with unstable medical conditions 
 

3.  Dialysis aftercare 
 

4.  Emergency medical care and treatment 
beyond providing basic CPR and summoning 
EMS providers 

5.  Extensive skin/wound care 
 

6.  IV therapy 
 

7.  Rehabilitation therapies 
 

8.  Ventilator care 
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3 .  Will a Pioneer Home resident be discharged/ 
evicted if he/she is unable to pay the monthly rate 
for a particular service level? 
No, under Alaska statute, a Pioneer Home resident 
cannot be evicted if unable to pay for Pioneer Home 
services. Payment Assistance is available for those 
who are unable to pay the full cost of care. However, 
if a resident is able to pay but unwilling to do so, he/ 
she may be evicted. For more information see our 
booklet Payment Assistance. 

 

4 .  Can applicants transfer to any of the other Pioneer 
Homes? 
Yes, if they were admitted to a Pioneer Home 
which was ranked on their application as a lower 
preference than the Home to which they wish to 
transfer. 

 
5 .  How long is the initial application valid to transfer 

to another home? 
Once an applicant has accepted an invitation of an 
Alaska Pioneer Home, they have 30 days to submit a 
written request if they wish to transfer to a home of 
higher preference. The applicant’s name is then kept 
on the active waiting list for the Home(s) of higher 
preference while retaining the original application 
date. An applicant in “transfer” status is offered a 
bed in the new Home of higher preference in the 
same manner as other applicants to that home, 
based on original date of application and required 
level of service. 
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6 .  What happens if a request to transfer to another 
home is submitted more than 30 days after accepting 
an invitation to a lower choice home? 
Residents must start at the bottom of the waiting list 
and complete a new application form if the request to 
transfer: 
a. Is submitted more than 30 days after accepting an

invitation, or
b. Is to relocate to a home of lesser preference, or
c. Is to a home not on the original application.

Miscellaneous Questions 

1 . May I receive services from outside agencies? 
Outside agencies may provide services to supplement 
the services a resident receives in a Pioneer Home. 
This arrangement allows the resident to remain in 
the Pioneer Home in a familiar environment. Such 
an arrangement requires the agreement of the 
Home Administrator and the resident, family or legal 
representative. The individual resident is financially 
responsible for these outside agency services. 

2 . What happens if an applicant is in need of care prior 
to being offered a bed in a Pioneer Home? 
There are no provisions for a needs-based priority of 
admissions to the Alaska Pioneer Homes. All 
applicants are selected for admission based upon the 
order in which their initial applications were received. 
The Division of Senior and Disabilities Services has 
a hotline to provide information on other services 
available in Alaska. In Anchorage call 269-3666. 
From elsewhere in Alaska call 1-800-478-9996. 
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For further information 
please contact The Pioneer Homes Central 

Administrative Office at: 

Division of Alaska Pioneer Homes 
P.O. Box 110690 

Juneau, AK 99811-0690 
(907) 465-4416 

Fax: (907) 465-4108 

Or the social services worker at one of the Homes: 

Anchorage 
Pioneer Home 

923 W. Eleventh Ave. 
Anchorage, AK 99501 

(907) 276-3414 

Juneau 
Pioneer Home 

4675 Glacier Hwy 
Juneau, AK 99801 
(907) 780-6422 

Alaska Veterans 
& Pioneers Home 

250 E. Fireweed Ave. 
Palmer, AK 99645 
(907) 745-4241 

Fairbanks 
Pioneer Home 
2221 Eagan Ave. 

Fairbanks, AK 99701 
(907) 456-4372 

Ketchikan 
Pioneer Home 
141 Bryant St. 

Ketchikan, AK 99901 
(907) 225-4111 

Sitka 
Pioneer Home 
120 Katlian St. 

Sitka, AK 99835 
(907) 747-3213 

Other important numbers: 

Pioneer Home Revenue Unit (Billing Office) 
Toll-free 1-888-355-3117 

Pioneer Home Pharmacy 
Toll-free 1-888-546-7294 

Contact Information 
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