Skip to content

Commission Members

Alaska Commission on Aging Mission

The mission of the Alaska Commission on Aging is to ensure the dignity and independence of all older Alaskans, and to assist them to lead useful and meaningful lives through planning, advocacy, education, and interagency cooperation.

Commission Roster

The Commission is comprised of eleven members, seven of whom are public members (with six members being 60 years and older) appointed by the Governor to serve four-year terms. Two seats are filled by the Commissioners of the Department of Health and Social Services and the Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development. The remaining seats are reserved for the Chair of the Pioneer Home Advisory Board and a senior services provider, regardless of age.

  • Kathryn Abbott, Anchorage
    Department of Commerce, Community & Economic Development Designee
  • David Blacketer, Kodiak
    Expires 09/01/2019
  • Linda Combs, Palmer
    Public/Restricted Member
    Expires 09/01/2020
  • Michael Coons, Palmer
    Expires 09/01/2020
  • Deb Etheridge, Juneau
    Department of Health and Social Services Designee
  • Anna Frank, Fairbanks
    Public/Restricted Member

    Expires 09/01/2020

  • Gordon Glaser, Anchorage
    Public Member

    Expires 09/01/2017

  • Rosemary Hagevig, Douglas
    Pioneers' Homes Advisory Board Member

  • Nona Safra, Anchor Point
    Senior Service Provider
    Expires 09/01/2021
  • Mary Shields, Anchorage
    Public/Restricted Member
    Expires 09/01/2020
  • Robert Sivertsen, Ketchikan
    Public/Restricted Member
    Expires 09/01/2019

ACoA Staff

In FY2016, the Commission was supported by an office staff of four that included the executive director, two planners, and the administrative assistant. Due to legislative budget reductions, the office staff will be reduced to three members in FY2017 and then two members in FY2018 leaving the executive director and one planner intact.

  • Denise Daniello, Executive Director
    (907) 465-4879
  • Lesley Thompson, Planner I
    (907) 465-4793

Resources from the Office of the Governor