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Pioneer Homes programs, please call: 907‐465‐4416 

For answers to questions regarding costs and billing, please call our toll‐free 
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The Payment Assistance Program 

This booklet provides information about the Alaska Pioneer Home Payment
Assistance Program. A resident that is receiving Level III, IV, or V services and
is applying for payment assistance must also apply for Medicaid and any
other state or federal programs that may reduce the amount of state
assistance required (Alaska Statute 47.55.020(e)). Medicaid may assist with
the payment of medical expenses that are not covered under the Payment
Assistance Program. Residents must apply for these other programs within
60 days of a request from the Department (7 AAC 74.040(e)). 

The resource limitation for the Payment Assistance Program is $98,000 for a
resident with a spouse living in the community and $10,000 per individual if
there is no spouse or the spouse also lives in a care facility. 

Along with the application for payment assistance, the resident or their
personal representative must submit proof of Medicare coverage Part A
(hospital), Part B (medical), and Part D (prescription drug) or equivalent
medical insurance coverage from another provider (Alaska Statute 47.55). 

There is a separate application process with the Division of Public Assistance
for Medicaid benefits. Please consult with the Aging and Disabilities
Resource Centers for help with resource limitations and applying for
Medicaid benefits. The phone number for Aging and Disability Resource
Centers is 1‐855‐565‐2017. 

An Alaska Pioneer Home resident who received payment assistance is
indebted to the state for the amount of the assistance. Upon the
liquidation of noncash resources, when a resident becomes deceased, a
state claim for the payment assistance debt will be filed against the
individual’s estate. (AS 47.55.080, AS 4755.090) The state will not pursue a
claim to the extent that it will create an undue hardship on the surviving
spouse or legal dependent(s) of the deceased. Heirlooms are exempt from a
state claim without regard to value. (AS 47.55.095) 
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Frequently Asked Questions 

1. What are the monthly rates? 

There are five levels of service available to Alaska Pioneer Homes 
residents. Each level of service has a different monthly rate, excluding
charges for medications and supplies. The monthly rates effective July 1,
2020 are: 
Level I: $2,976 per month 
Level II: $5,396 per month 
Level III: $7,814 per month 
Level IV: $9,333 per month 
Level V: $15,000 per month 

* Each level of service also includes a room and board rate of $579 
per month. The remaining portion of the service charge is the 
residential service rate. 

2. How can a resident apply for payment assistance? 

The resident, or their representative, completes a payment assistance
application. 

Application forms can be obtained: 

 On our website: 
http://dhss.alaska.gov/daph/Pages/paymentassistance 

 At any of the six Alaska PioneerHomes; 

 At the Division of Alaska Pioneer Homes Central Office located on 
the seventh floor of the State Office Building in Juneau; 

 By phone: 907‐465‐4416 in Juneau andoutside of Juneau by calling 
the toll‐free statewide number 1‐888‐355‐3117. 

 By email: alaskapioneerhomes@alaska.gov 

3. What information is required for an applicantor resident to apply for
payment assistance? 

The application must contain a complete and accurate disclosure of the
applicant’s resources and income for the 36 months preceding the date of 
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application. This includes a listing of: 

 All real property, inside or outside the state, owned in whole or in
part by the applicant or the applicant’s spouse; 

 All resources including automobiles, boats, airplanes, jewelry, cash,
stocks, bonds, notes, livestock, and major equipment owned in whole
or in part by the applicant or the applicant’s spouse; 

 The amount and source of all income that the applicant or the
applicant’s spouse receives or might receive; 

 Complete copies of federal income tax returns for the applicant and
the applicant’s spouse for the preceding threeyears; 

 The number, location and contents of all savings, checking,
brokerage, or other accounts and safe‐deposit boxes held individually
or jointly by the applicant or the applicant’s spouse during the past
36 months. 

In addition to the application and supporting documents for payment
assistance, the Alaska Pioneer Homes may request additional
information to determine an applicant’s eligibility. Such requests may
require that the applicant give the Alaska Pioneer Homes access to
additional financial records. 

If resources or income changes, an applicant or resident on the Payment
Assistance Program must inform the Alaska Pioneer Homes as soon as
possible. All information submitted to the Alaska Pioneer Homes is
protected under the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act
(HIPAA) and is confidential and will not be disclosed as provided by law. 

4. What items are not considered a resource or a source of income? 

 A personal needs allowance of $300 per month if resources are
less than$5,000; 

 A motor vehicle; 

 Assets received under Alaska Native ClaimsSettlement Act 
including cash and annual dividends up to $2,000, stock, non‐
cash dividends from stock, and land; 

 Alaska Permanent Fund Dividend; 

 Compensation to volunteers with the retired federal andsenior
volunteers, foster grandparents, and senior companion programs; 

 Federal World War II restitution payments; 
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 Federal Agent Orange Settlement Fund payments; 

 Alaska Victim’s Compensationpayments; 

 Life insurance policies that have no cash surrender value; 

 Burial provisions for the resident and the resident’s spouse or
dependent with a value up to $4,500 for each person. This may
consist of: 

o Burial insurance; 
o A specific account, or 
o A combination of both burial insurance and a specific 

account. 

 Burial spaces owned by and for use of the resident and the
resident’s spouse or dependents. 

5. What if a resident receives unexpected income after they are on the
Payment Assistance Program? 

Any unexpected income or resources received by a resident who is
receiving payment assistance will most often be applied to their
indebtedness to the state. 

6. Is a resident receiving payment assistance allowed to keep
any of his/her income? 

If legislative appropriations are sufficient and a resident receiving
payment assistance does not have a monthly income of at least $300,
the Alaska Pioneer Homes will pay the amount necessary to bring the
resident’s monthly income up to $300 for a personal needs allowance.
The resident may accumulate Permanent Fund Dividend money in an
account but will lose eligibility for the personal needs allowance if the
accumulated funds exceed $5,000. 

7. What if a resident has a spouse or legal dependent living separately in a
community? 

Regulations protect certain resources and income of a spouse or a
legal dependent living independently in a community. The following
items are not considered a resource or income of a payment
assistance applicant who has a spouse or dependent living in a
community: 

a. Real property being used as the primary residence of the 
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resident’s spouse or dependent; 

b. Other real and personal property, both tangible and intangible,
with a total value for both realand personal property of not
more than $98,000; 

c. Property necessary for the resident, resident’s spouse or
dependent’s physical condition, such as a prosthetic device, is
not subject to the $98,000 value limitation; 

d. The portion of the resident’s or recipient’s monthly income that
will be used to bring the income of the resident’s or recipient’s 
spouse up to the maximum community spouse monthly
maintenance allowance. 

Please contact the Alaska Pioneer Homes Central Office, at the numbers 
listed at the end of this booklet, if you have questions regarding resource
guidelines for a spouse or dependent living in the community. 

8. What if a resident does not have a spouse or dependent living
independently in a community, or if both husband and wife reside
in a Pioneer Home? 

For a resident without a spouse living in a community or if both
spouses reside in a Pioneer Home, the following items are not
considered a resource or income: 

a. Real and personal property, both tangibleand intangible, with a
total value of not morethan $10,000 per individual. 

b. Property necessitated by the resident’s physical condition, such as
a prosthetic device, is not subject to the $10,000 valuelimitation. 

9. What if a resident has gifted, sold, or transferred their assets? 

The Division of Alaska Pioneer Homes includes as a resource the value of 
any assets owned by the applicant or applicant’s spouse within 36
months preceding the date of the payment assistance application. If the
applicant or applicant’s spouse gifted, sold, or assigned a resource for
less than fair market value, it will be presumed to have been for the
purpose of reducing the applicant’s ability to pay the state for services in
an Alaska Pioneer Home. Any applicant has the right to appeal that
presumption. 
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10. How will the resident’s income be distributed? 

If a resident receives a total monthly income of more than $300
from all sources, the resident’s excess income will be applied in
the following priority sequence; 

a. Payment of the resident’s federal income tax; 

b. Payment of the resident’s medication expenses from providers
other than the Alaska Pioneer Homes centralized pharmacy; 

c. Payment of the resident’s personal health insurance premiums; 

d. Payment of the resident’s monthly rate. 

11. When does payment assistance take effect? 

If approved, payment assistance generally begins the first day of the
month following the month in which the application for payment
assistance is received. 

12. What happens to the accrued indebtedness? 

An Alaska Pioneer Home resident who received payment assistance is
indebted to the state for the amount of the assistance. Upon the
liquidation of noncash resources, when a resident becomes deceased or
leaves the Alaska Pioneer Homes, a state claim for the payment
assistance debt will be filed against the individual’s estate. The state will
not pursue a claim to the extent that it will create an undue hardship on
the surviving spouse or legal dependent(s) of the deceased. Heirlooms
are exempt from a state claim without regard to value. 

13. What about medical insurance andother expenses? 

Any resident approved for the Payment Assistance Program is required to
have Medicare Part A (hospital), Part B (medical), and Part D (prescription
drug) or the equivalent medical insurance coverage from another 
provider. 
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Definitions 

Legislative appropriations – A legislative act authorizing the expenditure of 
a designated amount of public funds for a specific purpose. 

Financially able – An applicant, resident, or recipient has: 

• Enough monthly income to pay the appropriate monthly rate
and any additionalcharges; 

• Income of at least $300 a month left for personal use after paying
the rate and additional charges; and 

• Resources with a value that, after allowable items are excluded, 
would be sufficient to pay the full amount of monthly charges. 

Income – Both earned and unearned income, including wages, net earnings 
from self‐employment, other payment for services, royalties, tax refunds,
annuities, pensions, prizes and awards, child support and alimony received. 

Indebtedness – The amount of money owed to the state for payment 
assistance. 

Resources – All real and personal property, including cash, stocks, bonds,
real estate, etc. 

Undue hardship – After considering other reasonable alternatives to obtain
medical care, food, clothing, shelter, or other necessities of life an individual
would be deprived of medical care such that the individual’s health or life
would be endangered, or of food, clothing and shelter, or other necessities
of life. 

Alaska Pioneer Homes 9 



         

     

           

                   
       

         

         

                 
 

 

                   
     

          
                    

           

           

             

             

             

             

             

             

            

           

             
 

         

 

Contact Information 

Alaska Pioneer Homes Payment Assistance Program 

For answers to questions regarding the Alaska Pioneer Homes Payment 
Assistance Program, please call: 

Alaska Pioneer Homes Central Office 

Phone: 907‐465‐4416 or 1‐888‐ 355‐3117 (toll‐free) 

Hours: 8 a.m. – 4:30 p.m. Monday through Friday. 

Medicaid 

For answers to any questions regarding Medicaid and Medicaid Waiver 
benefits, please call: 

Division of Public Assistance 
Hours: 8 a.m. – 4:30 p.m. Monday through Friday. 

In Anchorage: 907‐269‐6599 or 1‐800‐478‐4372 (toll‐free) 

In Bethel: 907‐543‐2686 or 1‐800‐478‐2686 (toll‐free) 

In Fairbanks: 907‐451‐2850 or 1‐800‐478‐2850 (toll‐free) 

In Homer: 907‐226‐3040 or 1‐877‐235‐2421 (toll‐free) 

In Kenai: 907‐283‐2900 or 1‐800‐478‐9032 (toll‐free) 

In Ketchikan: 907‐225‐2135 or 1‐800‐478‐2135 (toll‐free) 

In Kodiak: 907‐486‐3783 or 1‐888‐480‐3783 (toll‐free) 

In Nome: 907‐443‐2237 or 1‐800‐478‐2236 (toll‐free) 

In Juneau: 907‐465‐3537 or 1‐800‐478‐3537 (toll‐free) 

In Sitka: 907‐747‐8234 or 1‐800‐478‐8234 (toll‐free) 

In Wasilla: 907‐376‐3903 or 1‐800‐478‐7778 (toll‐free) 

Aging and Disabilities Resource Centers 

1‐855‐565‐2017 
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This booklet is one of five providing information about Alaska Pioneer 
Homes. 

Other booklets in the series: 

About our Homes 

Admissions and Discharge 

A Matter of Rights 

Pharmacy Program 

www.dhss.alaska.gov/daph 
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