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PURPOSE

To state the Alaska certification and licensing requirements of certain employees at the Alaska
Pioneer Homes (AKPH).

POLICY

Certain resident care and administrative employees must participate in continuing education and
pay a cost to recertify or relicense every two years, to continue working in the AKPH.

DEFINITIONS

Certification is when a professional is certified as being able to competently complete a job or
task, usually by the passing of an examination. Certification is an employment qualification and
not a legal requirement for practicing a profession.

License or registration is required by law to work in a particular profession. Many professions
require a license from the state government in order to ensure that the public will not be harmed
by incompetent practitioners.

PROCEDURE
I. Certification and Licensing
A. Cost

1. Alaska law (AS 08.01.065) requires each certified and licensed professional to
cover its own regulatory costs.

2. State employees pay for continuing education unless the class is offered by the
State.

3. Certification and licensing cost and continuing education are required every
two years.

4. Continuing education is earned with contact hours or CEUs.

B. Two-year requirements for AKPH job classifications
1. Certified nurse aide (CNA)
a. Certification expires 3/31/even years.
b. 24 contact hours/CEUs every two years.
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c. 160 employment hours required.
d. $180 every two years.
2. Licensed practical nurse (LPN)
a. License expires 9/30/even years.
b. 30 contact hours/CEUs every two years.
c. 320 employment hours required.
1) 30 volunteer hours may be substituted.
d. $215 every two years.
3. Registered nurse (RN)
a. License expires 11/30/even years.
b. 30 contact hours/CEUs every two years.
c. 320 employment hours required.
1) 30 volunteer hours may be substituted.
d. $215 every two years.
4. Advanced nurse practitioner (ANP)
a. License expires 11/30/even years.
b. 30 contact hours/CEUs every two years.
1) 8 continuing education hours required if ANP has prescriptive
authority.
c. 320 employment hours required.
d. $290 every two years.
5. Physical therapist (PT)
a. License expires 6/30/even years.
b. 24 contact hours/CEUs every two years.
c. 60 service hours required.
d. $230 every two years.
6. Administrator, Assistant Administrator
a. License expires 6/30/even years.
b. 36 contact hours/CEUs every two years.
1) Senior Living University provides three manuals that must be
reviewed every two years to receive the contact hours.
c. $355 every two years.
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