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PURPOSE

To ensure that the Alaska Pioneer Homes (AKPH) has the staffing needed to safely manage elder
care, and to allow staff the opportunity to take time off from work.

POLICY

Adequate staffing of the AKPH ensures the fulfillment of the Home mission to provide
specialized services to the residents.

Regular attendance at the Home is a basic responsibility and obligation of all employees.

Request for personal leave is granted according to date of request, availability of staff coverage,
and at times, seniority of the requesting staff member.

Overtime hours provide adequate staffing for resident care and safety.

DEFINITIONS

FMLA is the Family and Medical Leave Act which entitles employees to take 12 weeks of
unpaid, job protected leave for family and medical reasons. Group health insurance coverage
continues under the same terms and conditions as if the employee had not taken leave.

AFLA is the Alaska Family Leave Act which grants job protection to employees for family and
medical leave. Incapacity requiring absence from work of more than 3 calendar days, and
involves continuing treatment by a health care provider is covered for up to 18 weeks per 24
months.

PROCEDURE

I. Employee Attendance

A. Absences from work
1. Absences and tardiness due to illness, injury, or personal necessities are
reasonable and inevitable.
2. Authorized absences not addressed in this policy:
a. Holidays
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b. Military leave

c. Jury duty or court leave

d. Family leave - FMLA, AFLA

e. Union business leave

f. Workers’ Compensation Act absence

g. Vacation — 2 or more work days of leave, approved in advance
Undesirable absences addressed in this policy:

a. Absence is the failure to work a scheduled time.

b. Tardiness is being late and not reporting for work at the scheduled time.
c. Early departure is leaving work before the end of a scheduled shift.

d. Late return from meal break is the failure to return to an assigned work

station within the time allowed for a meal break.

e. Late return from relief break is the failure to return to an assigned work
station within the time allowed for a relief break.

f.  Unscheduled absence is missing work with less than 12 hours advanced
notice, and without approval.

g. Unexcused absence is missing work with less than 2 hours of advanced
notice.

h. No call or no show is the failure to give any advanced notice of absence;
abandonment of duties.

1. Excessive absence or tardiness is the chronic or inordinate absences or
tardiness with patterns of leave abuse.

B. Discipline for lack of employee attendance

L

2.

3.

Discipline guidelines for addressing employee attendance issues may be used

in the six Homes.

There may be times when more severe discipline is warranted or when forms

of discipline are repeated.

The supervisor decides the degree of discipline after considering the

circumstances of the employee and the incident.

Guidelines for documentation and payroll records:

a. Excused tardy when the issues are beyond the employee’s control, such as
a car accident, uses annual leave or leave without pay (LWOP).
First unexcused incident of tardiness is LWOP.

c. Further unexcused incidents of tardiness are unauthorized leave without
pay (UNLWOP).

d. No call or no show is UNLWOP, and considered abandonment of duties
and subject to immediate dismissal.

e. Written warning letters:
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1) Advise the employee of the unacceptable attendance, the need to
improve in the next 30 days, and the consequences of failing to
improve.

2) Letter of warning given to the employee with 4 incidents of
unacceptable attendance.

3) Letter of reprimand given to the employee with 5 incidents of
unacceptable attendance.

4) Letter of suspension given to the employee with 6 incidents of
unacceptable attendance.

f. Employee’s use of personal leave requires prior approval of the
supervisor, except for illness or injury.

1) If prior approval is not received, the absence is considered UNLWOP.

g. Ifsick leave abuse is suspected, an employee may be required to obtain a
physician’s certificate to warrant the absence.

C. Actions taken for tardiness and absence with overtime eligible employees:

L

An employee with a third incident of tardiness and/or unscheduled absence
within a 30 day period will be verbally informed that another incident within
the next 30 days may result in discipline.

An employee with a fourth incident of tardiness and/or unscheduled absence
within that following 30 days period may be issued a written warning after a
pre-determination interview has been conducted. The letter of warning will
inform the employee of the unacceptable attendance, the need to improve
within the following 30 days, and the consequences of failing to improve.
An employee with a fifth incident of tardiness and/or unscheduled absence
within the next 30 days may be issued a written reprimand after a pre-
determination interview has been conducted. The letter of reprimand will
inform the employee of the continued unacceptable attendance, the need to
improve within the following 30 days, and the consequences of failing to
improve.

An employee with a sixth incident of tardiness and/or unscheduled absence
within the next 30 days may be suspended without pay after a pre-
determination interview has been conducted. The letter of suspension will
inform the employee of the unacceptable attendance, the need to improve
within the following 30 days, and the failure to improve may result in more
severe discipline, up to and including dismissal.

An employee failing to report for duty and failing to notify anyone of the
absence (no show) may be considered as an abandonment of duties and
subject to discipline, up to immediate dismissal.
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6.

An employee’s use of personal leave requires prior approval of the supervisor.
If prior approval is not received the absence may be considered unauthorized
leave without pay.

An employee’s use of sick leave may require a physician’s certificate if leave
abuse is suspected. Failure to provide the requested certification may result in
the absence being unauthorized leave without pay and possibly
insubordination (failure/refusal to comply with a directive).

D. Personal leave for the employee

1.

The time and schedule constraints listed below are guidelines that can be used

by the supervisor. They are not meant to restrict the supervisor’s decisions

about the employees’ personal leave.

Personal leave during peak or non-peak months.

a. Peak month leave limited to 2 weeks, during May, June, July, August,
November, and December.

b. Non-peak month leave limited to 3 weeks, during January, February,
March, April, September, and October.

c. Home specific policies may be created to modify the personal leave limits.

Leave requests are reviewed for approval 6 months in advance, and leave

requests are submitted up to 12 months in advance.

a. Receive an approved copy of a leave request before purchasing travel
arrangements.

b. If two similar job classification employees request the same time off,
preference is given to the employee with the earliest request date.

If personal leave results in leave without pay, the leave is normally not

granted.

a. Leave balance is indicated on electronic paycheck stubs each pay period.

b. It is the employee’s responsibility to know their leave balance before
requesting personal leave.

Personal leave for emergencies that occurs after the schedule is posted is

considered on an individual basis.

a. Non-emergency medical and business appointments are scheduled during
non-working hours.

Personal leave requests are submitted on a paper or electronic leave request

form.

If a leave request has been approved and the supervisor has obtained coverage

for the shift, it is up to the supervisor’s discretion whether the request can be

canceled.

The employee returns to work after personal leave according to the date

specified on the leave request.
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9. The employee completes a leave request upon returning from unscheduled

leave.
E. Overtime
1. If the minimum staffing number is not met, the following sequence of events
occurs:
a. The employees on the non-perm on call roster are asked to report to work
at the Home.
b. If on call employees are not available, a request for volunteers to work
overtime is made.
c. If there are no volunteers, then staff is mandated to work overtime.
1) The least senior staff member remains on duty to work.
2) The second time overtime is required, the next least senior staff
remains on duty to work.
3) Mandatory overtime continues on a rotating basis.
2. Alaska House Bill 50 (HB 50) addresses overtime hours for licensed nurses.

a.

b.

A nurse can work up to 14 consecutive hours in a 24 hour period if the
nurse has a 10 hour break before returning to work.

HB 50 prohibits mandatory overtime which is hours above an agreed
upon, predetermined, regularly scheduled shift. (The employer makes the
overtime compulsory, as opposed to voluntary.)

The nurse cannot be forced to work more than 80 hours in a 14-day
period.

HB 50 allows voluntary overtime if the work hours do not exceed 14
consecutive hours.

HB 50 exceptions include unforeseen emergency that could jeopardize
resident safety such as natural disaster, unforeseen weather condition, or
disease outbreak. A nurse working at a rural health care facility that has
declared a temporary nurse staffing emergency is an HB 50 exception.
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