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PURPOSE

To describe the options available to Alaska Pioneer Home (AKPH) residents to pay the monthly
AKPH charges.

POLICY

The monthly AKPH rates for Level I, Level I, and Level I1I services are defined in regulation
and are subject to change.

The monthly rates cover room, board, and care provided by AKPH staff.

If financially able, the residents pay the monthly charges for room and board, medications
dispensed by the AKPH pharmacy, and ancillary supplies.

If not financially able, assistance programs are available to the AKPH residents.
Alaska state regulation requires recipients of state assistance who qualify for other federal and
state assistance programs to apply to those programs. This reduces the amount of assistance

needed.

Department of Health and Social Services (DHSS) staff assists with the eligibility forms for
other benefit programs.

Charges incurred by an AKPH resident are the responsibility of the resident.

DEFINITIONS

Division of Public Assistance (DPA) in the Department of Health and Social Services (DHSS)
determines financial eligibility of individuals in need of Medicaid benefits.

Public Assistance (PA) Program furnishes Medicaid financial assistance to needy, aged, blind
and disabled persons, to help them attain self-care.

b4

Division of Senior and Disabilities Services (DSDS) in the DHSS manages the daily
administration and operation for the Medicaid waiver program; DSDS oversees the entire
operation.
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Medicaid Waiver provides funding for services to clients who meet financial eligibility through
the DPA and Level of Care through the DSDS. The waiver keeps individuals with disabilities in
their home communities and out of institutions, hospital, and nursing facilities.

Older Alaskans Waiver is one of four Medicaid waivers offered by DSDS that allows people to
receive needed care while living in their home or community, rather than enter a hospital,
nursing facility, or intermediate care facility.

Medicaid is the primary public program for financing health and long term care services for low
income Alaskans. It is funded fifty percent by federal funds and fifty percent by state general
funds. Application for Medicaid is at the local Public Assistance office.

Pioneer Home Payment Assistance program subsidizes the residents’ payments, up to the cost
of the Home rates and fees. The resident is allowed to keep two hundred dollars ($200) each
month for personal expenses. The assistance is provided to residents of Pioneer Homes who are
unable to pay the monthly charges.

Medicare is federal health insurance for elders 65 years and older and disabled persons who
receive Social Security payments. It is not income dependent. Application for Medicare is at the
Social Security Administration office.

PROCEDURE

I. Payment Categories

A. General information
1. AKPH residents have 3 payment categories.
a. Private Pay
b. Older Alaskans Medicaid Waiver
c. AKPH Payment Assistance Program
2. Payment of the monthly charges.
a. An AKPH resident who is unable to pay the full monthly charges cannot
be evicted, per statute.
b. An AKPH resident who refuses to pay the full monthly charges may be
evicted.
3. The AKPH central office in Juneau processes charges, payments, and account
adjustments.
a. Resident statements are sent on the first business day of each month.
b. The monthly rent charges are pre-billed.




AKPH P&P No. 03.05 Effective Date: 8/1/12 Page: 3 of 6

Title: Resident Payments

C.

The pharmacy and supply charges are billed after the medications are
dispensed and supplies are used.

B. Private Pay
1. Charges are paid with the resident’s personal funds.
2. Monthly rates charged:

a.
b.

C.

Level I =$2,350.
Level II = $4,260.
Level III = $6,170.

3. Daily rates charged:

a.

B

Day care = $70 per day.
1) Day care is available to applicants on the active AKPH wait list.
Respite care = $100 per day.

4. Pharmacy and supply

a.
b.

Pharmacy charges are based on the co-pay of filled prescriptions.
Supply charges are for those supplies used by the resident.

C. Older Alaskans’ Medicaid Waiver
1. Charges are paid with:

a.
b.
e

Resident’s available personal funds,
Mix of state and federal funds, and
State fund subsidies, if needed.

2. Monthly charges to waiver residents include:

opo o

$579. for room and board,

Medication co-pay, and

Supplies used.

Monthly charges do not exceed available income.

State and federal government subsidize the difference between the
monthly charges and the amount billed.

3. Waiver eligibility is determined by 2 divisions in the DHSS:

a.

b.

Senior and Disabilities Services

1) Administers the Medicaid waiver program that provides funding for
services for the residents.

2) Determines level of care needed.

Public Assistance

1) Determines financial eligibility.

4. The waiver provides expanded services to the residents who meet nursing
home level of care.

a.

Care services are provided in the home or community rather than in
Institutions, hospitals, skilled nursing facilities, or intermediate care
facilities.
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D. AKPH Payment Assistance Program
Charges are paid with:

1s

a.

Resident’s personal funds.

1) Resident is charged the amount to the available income, minus $200.
available each month for personal needs.

Remainder is subsidized with state funds.

1) Subsidy is the difference between the income-based charges and the
monthly charges.

2. Payment assistance eligibility is determined by application to the Division of
AKPH.

a.

Application discloses:

1) Resources

2) Income

3) Financial transactions in the past 36 months

To qualify, a resident may not have more than:

1) $10,000. in resources, after allowable deductions, or

2) $98,000. in resources with a spouse in the community.

Monthly charges subsidized by the State:

1) Unpaid monthly charges,

2) Medication co-pay, and

3) Supplies used.

When the resident dies, the State files a claim with the court system
against the estate for the indebtedness accrued during residency in the
AKPH.

E. Service level changes

When a resident’s care level is increased, the billing rate is changed 30 days
after the level change.

When a resident’s care level is decreased, the billing rate is changed on the
date of the level change.

When a resident needs temporary skilled nursing care, for example, due to a
condition from hospitalization:

1.

2

3.

a.

The resident is moved to a transition bed in a Level III neighborhood, if
staffing and space are available.

b. Temporary skilled nursing care may be provided in the Home for up to 45

days.

F. Transfers to other health care facilities
A private pay resident is charged the Level I monthly rate while in another
facility, or until it is determined that the resident will not return to the Home.

s 4
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2. A waiver resident is not charged the monthly rate while in another facility.

a. Reimbursement from the federal government is reduced by the number of
days spent away from the AKPH.
I1. Other Assistance Resources
A. Medicare

1. Medicare is federal health insurance for persons 65 years and older, and
persons who are disabled.

2. Medicare insurance is not income-dependent.

3. Medicare applications are available at:
a. Social Security Administration offices, or
b. On-line at www.socialsecurity.gov/medicareonly

B. Medicaid

1. The DHSS Division of Public Assistance determines Medicaid financial
eligibility.
a. Financial assistance is provided if eligible.

2. Medicaid is an assistance program created by the federal government with the
cost shared by the federal and state governments.

3. Medicaid covers:
a. Doctor visits
b. Hospital visits
c. Medications
d. Durable medical equipment, such as wheelchairs

4. Regular Medicaid does not pay for AKPH services.

5. Applications are available at the Public Assistance offices.

6. Medicaid program information is available at

www.hss.state.ak.us/dpa/programs/medicaid

C. Long term care insurance

L.

Insurance purchased by a resident from a private insurance company to help
pay the cost of long term care.

D. Pioneer Home Grant Program

L.
2.

Catastrophic insurance program.

The program provides supplements to AKPH residents who are financially
unable to pay for certain medical expenses.

The goal of the grant is to assist residents who incur medical expenses that
can’t be paid.

Assistance is by application and is not guaranteed.
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5. For more information, contact the AKPH Central Office at:

a. 1-907-465-4416, or
b. 1-888-355-3117.
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