
 
      

  

FFPSA: 
An early look at what it 

means for Alaska 



    
 

           
         

          
     

           

       

Overview of Family First Prevention and 
Services Act 

• This is the most significant federal child welfare legislation in decades 
with potential to have enormous impact on children and families 

• It makes substantial changes to federal child welfare financing – new 
opportunities for reimbursement, new restrictions on reimbursement 

• It also places many new requirements on state child welfare agencies 

• Reforms may require state legislative and regulatory changes 



 

       

      
      

 

        

          
 

       

         

The FFPSA is primarily focused on two areas, 
investing in prevention and prioritizing family 
based placement 

• FFPSA invests in prevention and family services by providing: 

• An open-ended entitlement for reimbursement of state expenditures on evidence-
based programs and services to prevent need for foster care 

• Ongoing monitoring and data collection 

• 50% of programs must be highest level of EBP 

• FFPSA ensures that non-foster family placement is only for short term 
treatment by: 

• Eliminating the federal reimbursement for non-therapeutic group homes 

• Requiring significant quality assurance restrictions on eligible residential treatment 
programs 



     
  

        
     

     

        
   

          

       
            

 

FFPSA ensures the necessity of a 
placement in residential care settings 

• Eliminates federal reimbursement for non-family foster homes after 
14 days unless a child is in: 

• A Qualified Residential Treatment Program (QRTP) 

• A setting specializing in providing prenatal, post-partum or 
parenting supports for youth 

• A supervised setting for youth ages 18+ who are living 
independently 

• A setting providing high-quality residential care and supportive 
services to children who have been or at risk of being sex 
trafficking victims 



      

        
       

      

          
               

    

         
         

What is a Qualified Residential Treatment Program 
(QRTP)? 

• Has a trauma informed treatment model and a registered or licensed 
nursing and other licensed clinical staff onsite; 

• Requires a 30 day assessment by a 3rd party clinician; 

• Requires a 60-day Court Approval to determine whether the needs of 
the children could be met in a foster family home or if the QRTP is the 
most effective level of care; 

• Requires a Family and Permanency Team for outreach and engagement 
of the child’s family in the child’s treatment plan 



 
  

         
  

   

     

  

               
            

   

Residential Treatment Program 
Requirements, Continued: 

• Provides discharge planning and family-based aftercare supports for at 
least 6 months; 

• Case Plan Requirements; 

• Ongoing Review and Permanency Hearing requirements; 

• Licensed and accredited 

There are no time limits on how long a child or youth can be placed in a 
QRTP as long as the placement continues to meet his/her needs as 
determined in assessment. 



     

          
         

           
    

           
            

Ensuring Appropriate Placements in Foster 
Care 

• The new requirements are intended to reduce State reliance on 
residential care settings for youth in foster care. 

• Alaska’s percent of foster children in residential care is the second 
lowest in the nation. 

• States can choose to not claim maintenance costs for youth in non-
qualifying QRTP’s after two weeks, this will have an impact on general 
fund spending. 



     

             

Percent of teens (13-17 years of age) in residential care on 09/30/2016 

• Blue bars represent top 10 states with highest number of Native American/Alaska Native children 



      
 

      
         

      

 
     

  
  

     

         
          

  

FFPSA invests Title IV-E dollars in prevention and family 
services in new ways for certain services 

• Children and parents must meet eligibility requirements: 
o the child must be a “candidate” for foster care, or 
o be a pregnant or parenting youth in foster care 

• Only the following services and program types are eligible: 
o Mental health services 
o Substance abuse prevention and treatment 
o In-home parent skill-based programs 
o Kinship Navigator programs 
o Residential parent-child substance abuse treatment programs 

• All services must meet the federal definition of promising, supported, 
well-supported programs and 50% of all funding must be used on well-
supported program models 



      

 
         

    

            
           

    

             

Who is a Candidate For Foster Care? 

“When a child is living with his or her parents and is deemed as being at 
imminent risk of entering foster care, but can remain safely at home through 
the provision of prevention services.” 

• Current practice allows for these families to be served after a Protective 
Service Report is received and investigated and the family is determined to 
be high risk. 

• The case must be opened and monitored by the child welfare agency while 
services are being provided. 



   

        
   

           
         

        

       
         

       
         

        
          

  

            
 

Funding for Prevention Activities 

• Allows states to claim reimbursement for 50% of costs for the services after 
they have been provided 

• This is an open-ended entitlement (Title IV-E), as long as services meet the 
requirements, there is no cap on the amount that states can request 

• Allows the following evidence-base services to be reimbursed: 

• Mental health prevention and treatment services provided by a qualified 
clinician for not more than a 12 month period. 

• Substance abuse prevention and treatment services provided by a 
qualified clinician for not more than a 12 month period. 

• In-home parent skill-based programs that include parenting skills training, 
parent education and individual and family counseling for not more than a 
12 month period. 

There is no limit on how many times a child and family can receive 
prevention services. 



    

    
 

  

  
 

 
  

  

   

    
 

 
 

 
  

  

   

 

Evidence Level 

Promising 

Supported 

Well Supported 

What are Family First Evidence-Based 

Sustained Effect 

• No follow-up 
study is required 

• 6 months 

• 12 months 

Practice Requirements? 
Requirements for all 
Evidence Levels 

• The practice is 
superior to an 
appropriate 
comparison practice 
using conventional 
standards of 
statistical evidence 

• Rated by an 
independent 
systematic Review 

• For Supported & Well 
Supported… carried 
out in usual care or 
practice setting 

Control Group 

• 1 untreated 
control, waitlist 
or placebo study 

• 1 RCT or rigorous 
quasi-
experimental 

• 2 RCTs or rigorous 
quasi-
experimental 



    

    

      
  

          
          

  

      
       

  

Considerations as we move forward: 

• Cost/benefit analysis of pursuing payment of services through Medicaid versus 
IV-E and the issue of “Medical Necessity” 

• Service Provider capacity to provide evidenced based mental health, 
substance abuse prevention/treatment services and in-home parenting 
supports. 

• Flexibility around the definition of Candidates for Care; and/or the capacity 
within the Office of Children’s Services and Tribal child welfare programs to 
manage additional prevention caseloads. 

• Securing the financing that will be needed to fund the up-front costs 
associated with prevention services, with the anticipation that 50% of the 
expenses will be reimbursed. 



         
      

           
   

              
        

           

            

Next Steps: 

The Office of Children’s Services must submit a comprehensive Prevention Plan 
to the federal Administration for Children and Services. 

• OCS will conduct stakeholder meetings and meetings with providers prior to the 
development of this plan. 

OCS will also be conducting a Gap Analysis as part of the planning process to 
determine where service providers exist, where new services are needed and 
how to best leverage limited state resources, especially for in-home parenting 
support services. 

Claiming can begin July 1, 2019 – Alaska is not anticipating being ready by this 
date. 



  

Questions/Discussion? 

Contact: natalie.norberg@alaska.gov 

mailto:atalie.norberg@alaska.gov

