
Better Together| Alaska Nursing Homes Together (ANHT) Conference 

January 9-10, 2017 

 
Joan Green| Health Facilities Surveyor, HFL&C 

 
 

Reporting Events to the State Agency 



January 9-10, 2017 

Better Together | Alaska Nursing Homes Together (ANHT) Conference 

What about reporting? 
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Why?  Regulations re: Abuse, neglect… 
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42 CFR §483.12 
F 223 
The resident has the right to be free 
from abuse, neglect, misappropriation 
of resident property and exploitation… 
 

F 224  483.12(a)  
The facility must not use verbal, 
mental, sexual, or physical abuse, 
corporal punishment, or involuntary  
seclusion. 

F 226   483.12(b)   Develop and implement 
written policies and procedures that: 
1) Prohibit and prevent abuse, neglect… 
2) Establish P&P’s to investigate allegations… 
3) Include required training as required in 483.95 
4) Coordinate with QAPI program (Phase 3) 
 

5)  483.95(c) Abuse, neglect and exploitation 
      In addition to requirements in 483.12 facility must provide   
training to staff on: 
 Activities that constitute: Abuse, neglect and exploitation… 
  
 Procedures for reporting incidents of: Abuse, neglect and 

exploitation… 
 
 Dementia management and resident abuse prevention. 
 



Why? (con’t) 
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The purpose is to assure that the facility is doing all that is 
within its control to prevent occurrences. 

Policies and Procedures are to include 
seven components: 
 Screening 
 Training 
 Prevention 
 Identification 
 Investigation 
 Protection 
 Reporting / Response 

The SOM (State 
Operation Manual) gives 
examples of how the 
facility could 
operationalize each 
component. 



Why? (con’t) 
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F 225   483.12(a) 
 

(3) Speaks to not employing certain 
individuals with criminal history, or entered 
on State nurse aide registry or having 
disciplinary action in effect against license 
due to abuse, neglect… 
 

(4) The facility must report to the State 
nurse aide registry or licensing board any 
knowledge of actions against employee by 
court of law… 
 

483.12(b) (5)(i)-(iii) to be implement 
11/28/17  (Phase 2) regarding P&P’s- 

483.12(c)   
(1) Ensure all alleged violations… are reported immediately, but… 
 Not later than 2 hours after the allegation is made if the 

events that cause the allegation involve abuse or result in 
serious bodily injury… 

 Or not later than 24 hours if the causation does not involve 
abuse and does not result in bodily injury. 

The report is to be made to the Administrator of the facility and 
to other officials, including the State Survey Agency and adult 
protective services where jurisdiction is provided for in law. 
(2) Evidence of investigation 
(3) Prevent further potential abuse while investigation in progress 
(4) Report the results of all investigations to administrator…and 
to other officials in accordance with State Law, including the State 
Survey Agency within 5 working days of the incident… 
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Who reports? 
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• Director of Nursing 
• Resident Care Manager 
• Charge Nurse 
• Social Services 
• Administrator 
• Any facility designee 

*The facility should have delegated the responsibility to an individual or team and should have a 
policy in place that outlines the facilities reporting process. 
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What to report? 
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All alleged violations involving abuse, neglect, exploitation, mistreatment,  
including injuries of unknown source and misappropriation of resident property are 
reported… 
 

• Both substantiated and unsubstantiated 
• Include witnessed events that have resulted in serious injury  

       

Where can you find allegations and potential violations? 
 

Policies/Procedures – Identification   (procedures in place to identify events) 
• Audits, team meetings, assessments, observations 

 

People – Family, friends, visitors, volunteers, staff members, residents 
• Concern/complaint, comments, observations 
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What to report? 

If you are  
unsure? 
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Call the State Agency,  
      let’s talk about it… 
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Where / How to report? 

Health Facilities Licensing & Certification (State Agency) 
 

Preferred method: 
Secure Fax:  (907) 334-2682 
 

Phone 
• 24 hr. Hot Line:  (888) 387-9387   
• Complaint Coordinator direct line:  (907) 334-2698 
 

Email 
• complaintcoordinator@alaska.gov 

 

9 



January 9-10, 2017 

Better Together | Alaska Nursing Homes Together (ANHT) Conference 

Where to report ? 

*Other entities as required or is warranted by 
the situation: 
 APS (Adult Protective Services) 

*Financial abuse, individuals outside facility 

 Long Term Care Ombudsman  
 *Resources, *involuntary discharges, transfers (new requirement) 

 Local law enforcement  
 *Assault 
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When to report (initial)? 
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The facility must ensure that all alleged 
violations…are reported immediately… 

"Immediately" means as soon as possible, but 
ought not exceed 24 hours after discovery of the 
incident, in the absence of a shorter state timeframe 
requirement.   

Initial Report – is notification that an incident has occurred and an investigation is underway.  
 

**Do not rush your investigation, take the time allowed to ensure you have looked at all 
pertinent areas of concern** 

483.12(c)** within 2 hours if causation involves 
abuse or serious bodily injury ** 



Initial Report  
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Items to include: 
Date & Time of Event 
Resident(s) & Location 
Type of incident 
Brief description of event 
Resident information 
Immediate Action(s)- 
   -Resident(s) protected?? 
Follow-up Action(s) 
Notifications made 

Other items you can 
include: 
• Date & Time of reports 
• Date & Time first 

reported to Supervisor 
• Report by: 
• Notification List 



When to report (final)? 
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The results of all investigations must 
be reported… within 5 working days 
of the incident… 

Final Report – summary of the facilities thorough 
investigation of the incident, findings and actions 
taken.  

Paint the picture… 

**Do not rush, take the time allowed to ensure you have completed a thorough investigation 
and looked at all pertinent areas of concern** 
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Final Report 

The final report should expand on the initial report: 
More about the resident(s) 
Current status of resident(s) 
 Incident Summary 
 Investigation: (interviews, observations, records reviewed) 
Actions Taken: (changes to care plan, medications, further 

notifications, training…) 
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Summary 

Policies & Procedures  
Designated person(s) for reports 
 Timeliness of reporting 
 Thorough investigations 
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Each resident has the right to be free from abuse, neglect, 
exploitation and misappropriation of property. 
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QUESTIONS? 
 
 

Please feel free to call me directly or send me an email. 

 

Thank You 
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