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What is a High Quality  
Child Care Facility ? 

It’s a Child Care Facility ….. 
 

 

• that is safe and secure for children 
 
• where children can grow and learn 

 
• where children will be supervised by adults at all times 

 
• with educated and trained caregivers to care for children. 

 
• with a program set up to promote quality 

 
• that promotes positive interactions with children and parents 

 
 



 
 

State of Alaska Statutes and Regulations 
Govern 3 Types  of Child Care Licenses: 

 
 
 

• Child Care Home License 
• Child Care Group Home License 
• Child Care Center License 

 
You will be responsible for understanding and complying 
with the following State of Alaska Statutes and Regulations:   
 

• AS 47.05.300 – AS 47.05.390 
• AS 47.32.010 – AS 47.32.900 
• 7AAC 10.010 – 7AAC 10.9990 
• 7AAC 57.010 – 7AAC 57.990  

 
 

Child Care Licensing statutes and regulations are located on the  
CCPO website:  http://dhss.alaska.gov/dpa/Pages/ccare/regs.aspx 
 

http://dhss.alaska.gov/dpa/Pages/ccare/regs.aspx


 
CHILD CARE HOMES 

 • Administrator must be 18 years of age or older 
 

• No more than 8 children total under age 13, including 
caregiver’s own children under age 12 
 

• No more than 5 children without Fire Marshal 
approval   
 

• No more than 3 children under 30 months 
 

• No more than 2 non-ambulatory children 
 

• At least 1 adult caregiver 18 years of age or older 
 

• No more than 5 children in nighttime care including 
caregiver’s own children under age 18 
 



       CHILD CARE GROUP HOMES 

• Administrator must be 21 years of age or older 
 

• No more than 12 children total under age 13 
 

• No more than 5 children under 30 months 
 

• No more than 4 non-ambulatory children  
 

• No more than 5 children in nighttime care including 
caregiver’s own children under age 18  
 

• 2 caregivers are required.  
 
EXCEPTION: 1 caregiver may be allowed, if that caregiver 

meets the experience and education requirements; and 
the facility may only have:  
No more than 10 children; none under 30 months, or  
No more than 12 children; all school age. 



CHILD CARE CENTERS 

• Administrator must be 21 years of age or older 
 

• Provide care for 13 or more children 
 

• 1 caregiver for every 5 infants (birth through 18 months) 
 

• 1 caregiver for every 6 toddlers (19 months to 36 months) 
 

• 1 caregiver for every 10 preschool children (3 & 4 years) 
 

• 1 caregiver for every 14 kindergarten children (5 & 6 years) 
 

• 1 caregiver for every 18 school age children (7 through 12 years) 

 



ADMINISTRATOR QUALIFICATIONS 
• ALL Child Care Facility Administrators must have:  

  An understanding of the development of children 
 The ability to care for children  
 Skills to work with children, family members, department staff, 

community agencies, and, if applicable, staff of the child care 
facility. 
 

•  Administrator of a Child Care Center must have: 
 Management and supervisory skills necessary to handle finances, 

plan and evaluate programs, and select and supervise personnel, 
including delegation of responsibility and motivation of staff 

 At least 12 semester hours of college credit in early childhood 
development, child development, child psychology, or the 
equivalent, or must hold either a current Child Development 
Associate (CDA) credential from the Council for Early Childhood 
Professional Recognition or a Montessori certificate issued by a 
program accredited by the Montessori Accreditation Commission 
for Teacher Education 

 



Steps to Becoming Licensed: 
1. Complete a Child Care Licensing Application Packet for the 

type of  License you would like to obtain (Home, Group 
Home or Center) 

 

2. Obtain valid criminal history clearances for you and all 
household members and/or caregivers 16 years of age and 
older.  

 

3. Submit all required items:  
Fire Marshall Approval if applicable 
Any missing items from your Application Packet 

requested on your ‘10 Day Letter.’ 
 

4. Participate in an Administrator Orientation to Child Care 
Licensing regulations, statutes and requirements.  

 

5. Participate in an On-site Compliance Evaluation (full 
premises inspection of the entire inside of the facility and 
outside property where the facility is located).  

 

   
 



Work With Other Agencies: 
• Background Check Program (BCP)  

 (Provisional & Final clearance process) 
 

• State of Alaska Business License  
 

• Department of Environmental Conservation (DEC)                    
(Food Establishment Permit, Water tests for Class C wells and non-public water 
systems) 
 

• Fire Marshall Inspection and Approval 
 

• Municipal/City ordinance requirements and business license 
 

• Alaska Immunization Program/ Alaska Department of Public Health, 
Epidemiology  
 

• thread – Alaska’s Child Care Resource & Referral Network 
(Visit www.threadalaska.org to contact your local office) 

 
• Child Care Assistance Local Administrators 
    (Visit  http://dhss.alaska.gov/dpa/Documents/dpa/programs/ccare/files/LA_list.pdf) 
 

• Child Care Program Office (CCPO) 
(Child Care Licensing (except MOA), Child Care Assistance Program, Alaska 
Inclusive Child Care Program and Child Care Grant Program) 

 

 

http://www.threadalaska.org/
http://dhss.alaska.gov/dpa/Documents/dpa/programs/ccare/files/LA_list.pdf


Initial On-Site Compliance 
Evaluation 

• On-site Compliance Evaluation occurs at the facility after 
the Child Care License Application Packet is complete 
 

• Administrator training on Child Care Licensing statutes 
and regulations, including a review of the on-site 
checklist used for full premises inspections 
 

• Administrator questions are answered and any areas of 
concern are addressed 
 

• Participate in an On-site Compliance Evaluation (full 
premises inspection of the entire inside of the facility 
and outside property where the facility is located) 
 

• Will take at least 3-5 hours 
 



Costs of Becoming a Licensed Child 
Care Provider 

• Health and safety equipment  
 

• Background clearance(s) 
 

• Age appropriate CPR/First Aid certification(s) 
 

• Required annual trainings 
 

• Equipment & supplies for children 
 

• Fire inspection fees 
 

• Well water test fees, if applicable 
 

• Possible repairs and/or modifications to the premises 
(indoor/outdoor) of the facility, if applicable 
 

• State of Alaska Business License & other applicable 
Municipal Licenses and permits, if applicable 
 



  
Benefits of Becoming a Licensed 

Child Care Facility? 
 • Licensed Providers are viewed as an early childhood professional 

 
• Families seek safe and secure child care through Licensed Providers 
 
• As a Licensed Provider you may care for more children 
 
• Licensed Providers may participate in the Child Care Grant Program to 

receive monthly reimbursements for operating costs and training 
 
• Child Care Assistance: Licensed Providers are eligible to receive 

increased reimbursement amounts if caring for participating families  
 
• Licensed Providers have access to additional supports such as the Child 

and Adult Care Food Program and professional development through 
thread, Alaska’s Statewide Child Care Resource and Referral Network.  
 
 



Child Care Licensing Resources 
• Municipality of Anchorage Child Care Licensing: TL: (907) 343-4738      Fax: (907) 343-4727 
 Physical Address: 825 L Street, 3rd Floor, Anchorage, AK 99501 
 http://www.muni.org/Departments/health/services/Pages/Child.aspx 
  

• thread, Alaska’s Statewide Child Care Resource & Referral Network: http://www.threadalaska.org/ 
 

• Child and Adult Care Food Program: http://education.alaska.gov/tls/cnp/CACFP.html 
 

• Alaska 2-1-1: http://www.alaska211.org/ 
 

• Best Beginnings: Alaska’s Early Childhood Investment: http://www.bestbeginningsalaska.org/ 
 

• Alaska Department of Education and Early Development (DEED): http://education.alaska.gov/ 
 

• Alaska Department of Public Health, Epidemiology: http://www.epi.alaska.gov/ 
 

• Alaska Department of Environmental Conservation (DEC): http://www.dec.state.ak.us/ 
 

• Alaska Department of Health & Social Services, Office of Children’s Services (OCS): 
http://www.hss.state.ak.us/ocs/ 
 

• National Association for the Education of Young Children (NAEYC): http://www.naeyc.org/ 
 

• Child Care Aware (formerly NACCRRA): http://childcareaware.org/ 
 

• Zero to Three, National Center for Infants, Toddlers and Families: http://zerotothree.org/ 
 

• The Technical Assistance Center on Social Emotional Intervention (TACSEI): 
http://www.challengingbehavior.org/  
 

• Early Childhood Technical Assistance Center (ECTA Center) http://www.ectacenter.org/  
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

http://www.muni.org/Departments/health/services/Pages/Child.aspx
http://www.threadalaska.org/
http://education.alaska.gov/tls/cnp/CACFP.html
http://www.alaska211.org/
http://www.bestbeginningsalaska.org/
http://education.alaska.gov/
http://www.epi.alaska.gov/
http://www.dec.state.ak.us/
http://www.hss.state.ak.us/ocs/
http://www.naeyc.org/
http://childcareaware.org/
http://zerotothree.org/
http://www.challengingbehavior.org/
http://www.ectacenter.org/


 
 
 

State of Alaska 
 CCPO Child Care Licensing 

 Contact Information 
 
 

Email: CCPO@alaska.gov 
Website: http://dhss.alaska.gov/Pages/ccare 

Toll Free TL: 1-888-268-4632 
 

Anchorage CCPO Office: 
Physical Address:  Mailing Address: 
3601 C Street, Suite 140 PO Box 241809 
Anchorage, AK  99503   Anchorage, AK 99524-1809 
TL: (907) 269-4500 
Fax: (907) 269-4536 
Toll Free Fax: 1-888-224-4536   

 

Fairbanks CCPO Office: Juneau CCPO Office: 
Physical & Mailing Address:  Physical Address  Mailing Address 
542 4th Avenue, Suite 212  130 Seward Street, Suite107 PO Box 110640 
Fairbanks, AK 99701   Juneau, AK 99801  Juneau, AK 99801-0640 
TL: (907) 451-3198   TL: (907) 343-4758 
Fax: (907) 451-3196   Fax: (907) 465-6982 
Toll free fax: 1-888-451-3196  Toll free fax: 1-888-465-6982 

 
 
 
 
 

 
 

mailto:CCPO@alaska.gov
http://dhss.alaska.gov/Pages/ccare
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