
 

 

 
 

 

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION YOU NEED TO KNOW 

 

You are required and responsible to pay your In-home caregiver at least the Alaska minimum wage. This 

means if your Child Care Assistance benefit amount including your monthly family contribution (co-pay) is 

less than the hours child care is used multiplied by the Alaska minimum wage, you must pay your caregiver 

the Alaska minimum wage amount. 

Note: Only families receiving PASS II and PASS III Child Care Assistance benefits have a monthly co-pay.  Families 

receiving PASS I Child Care Assistance do not have a monthly co-pay. 
 

The State of Alaska minimum wage is currently $9.75, per hour at straight time. 

Child Care Assistance payment rates* 

Approved or In-home Care 

Child Care Assistance Program  

 

Rates 

Full time month Part time month 
 
 
 Infant $518.00 $311.00 

Toddler $492.00 $295.00 
Preschool age $440.00 $264.00 

School Age $430.00 $258.00 

 
* Rates are from the Child Care Assistance Program Rate Schedule, effective March 1, 2010, which have some 
 differences based on geographic location. 

 

Please remember if you work a 40 hour week your caregiver may be working up to 50 hours per week 

because of your travel time from home to work and work to home. You need to ensure the hours care will be 

provided by your caregiver allows for your travel time and determine if you are required to pay overtime for 

these hours based on the laws set by the State of Alaska Department of Labor. If you have labor law 

questions, contact the Department of Labor, Wage and Hour division. If you have questions relating to the 

taxes you must pay regarding your employee, contact the Internal Revenue Service. 

 

If you work 8 hours per day, 5 days per week, and travel ½ hour to and from work each day (9 hrs) this is 45 

hours of child care per week. 45 x $9.75 = $438.75 per week you would owe your caregiver. $438.75 X 4.3 

weeks = $1,886.63 or more per month, depending on the number of days in each month. The Child Care 

Assistance Program (CCAP) Rate paid (State Rate) is based on the geographic location, child’s age, and 

amount of child care authorized. (See the Child Care Assistance Program Rate Schedule). 

 

Information provided in this document uses the State Rate for an Anchorage based family. For example, if 

you are determined eligible for a full month enrollment authorization, based on working 8 hours per day 5 

days per week, the CCAP would pay up to the full time month amount listed in the Child Care Assistance 

Program Rate Schedule above, based on the age of your child(ren), and minus your family’s contribution 

(co-pay) for PASS II and PASS III families. 
 

The maximum monthly total amount the CCAP may cover for all the children in a family using an in-

home caregiver is $4095.00. For example, the eligible care authorized by CCAP for a family’s eight 

children is $4800.00. CCAP payment would be up to $4095.00 and you will need to pay the difference 

of $705.00 to your caregiver. 

 

Some examples are on the back side. 

 

 

 

 



 

Examples: 

 

If a family is authorized and uses care 45 hours per week, the monthly amount you owe your In-home 

caregiver, based on the Alaska minimum wage, is $1,886.63.  If your family has: 
 

1) One infant child in full time care and your family’s co-pay is $50.00. The CCAP would authorize care for 
$468.00, which is the full time month enrollment State rate of $518 minus your co-pay of $50. You 
would be responsible to pay your caregiver $1,886.63 of which the CCAP will pay $468.  Your monthly 
out of pocket amount is $1,886.63 – $468 = $1,418.63. In-home care is not cost effective for your 
family in this situation. 

 

2) Two infant children in full time care and your family’s co-pay is $75.00. The CCAP would authorize care 

for $961.00 ($518.00 + $518.00 = $1,036, minus your co-pay of $75 = $961). You would be responsible to 

pay your caregiver $1,886.63 of which the CCAP will pay $961. Your monthly out of pocket amount is 

$1,886.63 – $961 = $925.63. In-home care is not cost effective for your family in this situation. 

 

3) One infant child and one toddler in full time care and your family’s co-pay is $75.00.  The CCAP would 

authorize care for $910.00 ($518.00 + $492 = $1,010, minus your co-pay of $75 = $935).You would be 

responsible to pay your caregiver $1,886.63 of which the CCAP will pay $935. Your monthly out of 

pocket amount is $1,886.63 - $935 = $951.63. In-home care is not cost effective for your family in this 

situation. 

 

4) One infant child, one toddler child, and one preschool aged child in full time care and your family’s co-

pay is $100. The CCAP would authorize care for ($518 + $492 + $440 = $1,450, minus your co-pay of 

$100 = $1,350). You would be responsible to pay your caregiver $1886.63 of which the CCAP will pay 

$1,350. Your monthly out of pocket amount is $1,886.63 - $1,350.00 = $536.63. In-home care is not 

cost effective for your family in this situation.  


