Skip to content

Contact for Heating Assistance:

Email HAP Staff at:


(907) 465-3058

Benefit Information Hotline:

(Outside Anchorage)

(907) 269-5777
(In Anchorage)

(907) 465-3319

Toll Free Fax

10002 Glacier Highway
Suite 200
Juneau, AK 99801-8569

FY 2016 Income Guidelines

​# of
in Home
​1 ​$2,758
​2 ​$3,735
​3 ​$4,710
​4 ​$5,683
​5 ​$6,660
​6 ​$7,635
​7 ​$8,608
​8 ​$9,585
​9 ​$10,560
​10 ​$11,533
​11 ​$12,510
​12 ​$13,485
​13 ​$14,458
​14 ​$15,435
​15 ​$16,410
​16 ​$17,383
​17 ​$18,360
​18 ​$19,335


Heating Assistance Program (HAP)

Heating Assistance information is also available at!

Register to vote online! Or print out a Registration form.

2016 Heating Assistance Application

The State of Alaska Heating Assistance Program (HAP) can help eligible residents defray their winter heating costs.  It is not designed to pay a household’s entire winter bill.  Households should be prepared to pay a portion of their annual heating costs. 
HAP is open and accepting applications from October 1, 2015 through April 30, 2016.  The program is open to home owners as well as renters.  To be eligible to participate an individual or household must:
  • Complete the FY 2016 Heating Assistance Application and include all required documentation.
  • Reside in the home for which they are applying for assistance at.
  • The gross income of all household members must be below 225% of the federal income poverty guidelines for Alaska. 
  • The household must have at least $200 a year in out-of-pocket heating costs.
house with ice
The Heating Assistance Program is also administered by 13 Tribal organizations in Alaska.  Please see the section below titled “Areas Served By Tribal Organizations” for a listing of those organizations, how to reach them, and the communities they serve. 
For residents served by the State, you may apply by downloading the application from this website, completing it, and then mailing it in.  You can also pick up applications at any Division of Public Assistance Office, local senior centers, WIC offices, or vendor locations. 
Applying for the program does not guarantee you will be approved.  Please make payment arrangements with vendors while you are waiting for your application to be processed.  Processing can take up to 45 days. 
Benefits will be sent to vendors beginning November 2, 2015.

Why is my benefit lower this year?

The amount paid for heating assistance benefits are defined in State Statute 47.25.621-626.  This statute directs us to base our FY 2016 price per point on the average price of a barrel of North Slope crude from September 2014 through February 2015.  With the price of a barrel of oil dropping, so too will our payout for the FY 2016 heating assistance season.  We will be paying at the rate of $130 per point for FY 2016 (down from $150 per point in FY 2015). 

Subsidized Rental Housing Utility Deposit (SRHUD)

Helps pay a utility deposit when households are moving into Section 8 or subsidized rental housing, provided that heat is included in the rent. Applications for the Subsidized Rental Housing Utility Deposit are accepted throughout the year.
Adobe Acrobat Document2016 SHRUD Program application. This application is used for the Subsidized Rental Housing Utility Deposit (SRHUD) program. Please call the Heating Assistance office to request an application.

NOTE: Completed forms should not be returned over email. Email should be used with discretion when relaying or requesting confidential or timely information, as documents may be delayed or rerouted and breaches of document confidentiality may occur.


Other Resources

211 – Alaska’s Statewide Agency Hotline.  Dial 211, let them know what community you live in and what type of help you are looking for.  They will direct you to agencies in your area who can assist. 
Unmet Needs – Program designed to assist America's service members who have been deployed in the last six years and have run into unexpected financial difficulties as a result of deployment or other military-related activity. The program provides financial aid of up to $5,000 to assist with basic life needs in the form of a grant - not a loan - so no repayment is required. To further ease the burden, we pay the creditor directly. For more information call 1-866-789-6333 or email them at ​​​​​​​​​