Skip to content
Alaska Smoke-free Workplace Law  

Alaska's Smokefree Workplace Law

Signs Must Be Posted

Beginning Monday, October 1, 2018, smoking and vaping is not allowed in enclosed public places and places of employment. “Place of employment” means work areas, private offices, hotel and motel rooms, employee lounges, restrooms, conference rooms, classrooms, cafeterias, hallways, vehicles, and other employee work areas that are under the control of an employer.

No-smoking signs​ must be posted, indoor ashtrays and other smoking accessories will disappear, and customers and employees who have been allowed to smoke inside will be asked to take it outside. Signs must be visible from the outside of each entrance.​

Law Requirements

AS 18.35.306. A person who is in charge of a place or vehicle where smoking is prohibited is required to display a sign that:

  1. Reads “Smoking Prohibited by Law – Fine $50”,
  2. Includes the international symbol for no smoking, or
  3. Includes the words “No Puffin” with an image of a puffin holding a burning cigarette enclosed in a red circle crossed with a red bar.

Buildings where smoking is prohibited within a specific distance from the entrance must have a sign, visible from each entrance that reads:
“Smoking within (number of feet) Feet of Entrance Prohibited by Law – Fine $50”

Which sign is right for businesses?

  • Sign options for inside the business or building:
  • Signs for building entrances (should be visible from the outside)
  • Which sign is right for vehicles?

  • No smoking/vaping windshield decal​
  • Order Signs​

    Hard copy signs are available free of charge to requesting businesses, and come in two sizes: 8.5 x 11” (stiff PVC material) and 7 x 7” (flexible plastic decal). Note that not all of the signage options are currently available in the PVC material. Requested signs are mailed out within 1-2 business days from date of request.

    If you have questions about what sign(s) your business needs or want to contact us with your order please call, 1-855-877-6100 or email tobacco@alaska.gov.

    Free Signs Available
    ​8.5"x11" PVC Sign ​7"x7" Window Cling ​3"x3" Window Cling
    No Smoking/Vaping plain​ X​ ​X ​X
    ​No Puffin ​X
    ​No Smoking/Vaping 10 Feet ​X ​X
    ​No Smoking/Vaping 20 Feet ​X ​X
    ​No Smoking/Vaping __ Feet ​X

    Download No Smoking (including Vaping) Signs​

    Click on image to download a pdf to print, or contact us to order hard copies:

    ​​Smoking (including Vaping) Prohibited by Law - Fine $50 - smokefree.alaska.gov AS 18.35.301

    Smoking (including Vaping) Prohibited by Law, No Puffin - Fine $50 - smokefree.alaska.gov AS 18.35.301No Smoking (or Vaping) within 10 Feet of Entrance Prohibited by Law - Fine $50 - smokefree.alaska.gov AS 18.35.301No Smoking (or Vaping) within 20 Feet of Entrance Prohibited by Law - Fine $50 - smokefree.alaska.gov AS 18.35.301No Smoking (or Vaping) within (fill in the blank) Feet of Entrance Prohibited by Law - Fine $50 - smokefree.alaska.gov AS 18.35.301 


    (The signs in the following list link to the same pdfs as the images above.)


    Where vaping is allowed

    If your business meets the law’s definition and requirements, you can download and use the following signs that apply to cigarette smoking only.​

    Download No Smoking Signs

    Click on image to download a pdf to print, or contact us to order hard copies:

    ​​Smoking Prohibited by Law - Fine $50 - smokefree.alaska.gov AS 18.35.301

    Smoking Prohibited by Law, No Puffin - Fine $50 - smokefree.alaska.gov AS 18.35.301No Smoking within 10 Feet of Entrance Prohibited by Law - Fine $50 - smokefree.alaska.gov AS 18.35.301No Smoking within 20 Feet of Entrance Prohibited by Law - Fine $50 - smokefree.alaska.gov AS 18.35.301No Smoking within (fill in the blank) Feet of Entrance Prohibited by Law - Fine $50 - smokefree.alaska.gov AS 18.35.301 


    (The signs in the following list link to the same pdfs as the images above.)

    Questions?​

    Signs are available to order for free. If you have questions about what sign(s) your business needs or want to contact us with your order please call, 1-855-877-6100 or email tobacco@alaska.gov.


    ​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​