
Answers to Frequently Asked Questions 
For Applicants with Criminal Convictions 
Important notice regarding criminal history 
All applicants for Alaska State Emergency Medical Technician Certifications, regardless of level and 
including out-of-state applicants are required to declare their criminal history as indicated on the 
application forms. Failure to declare a criminal conviction on any application is GROUNDS TO 
REVOKE, SUSPEND, OR DENY CERTIFICATION OR RECERTIFICATION.  7 AAC 26.950 

Applicants are also reminded of their duty to notify the department in writing within 30 days of being 
charged with an offense that is a Class A misdemeanor or a felony under the law of this state or an 
offense with substantially similar elements in another jurisdiction.  7 AAC 26.950 

What crimes are barriers to certification as an EMT in AlaskaI? 
Currently, convictions of a felony or class A misdemeanors that involves a crime against the person (AS 
11.41) crimes against the public order (AS 11.61), misconduct involving controlled substances (AS 
11.71), driving under the influence (AS 28.35.030) or refusal to submit to a chemical test (AS 28.35.032) 
will result in the department revoking, suspending or refusing to issue certification as an EMT. 

How much time must elapse between a conviction and obtaining EMT certification? 
That depends on the degree and nature of the crime. Some criminal convictions are lifetime barriers, 
while others may be 15 year, 10 year, or three year barriers. If you have specific questions, you should 
contact the State EMS Office before attending an EMT training program. 

What do I need to submit with my application if I have had a conviction? 
With your application for certification you will need to submit an affidavit, a criminal background check 
(Alaska Interested Persons Report), and, if the conviction is a driving offense, a copy of your driving 
record. The background check and the driving record must be requested not more than 90 days prior to 
your application date. 

What is an affidavit? 
An affidavit is a written declaration signed under oath before a notary public or other authorized officer. 

What should be included in an affidavit? 
• Date of the conviction(s) 
• Official name of the offense(s) 
• The sentence or treatment requirements imposed 
• The status of the sentence(s) or treatment(s) required, and 
• Any other information you believe is relevant to your application for EMT certification 

Does an affidavit need to be typed? 
No, a hand-written affidavit is acceptable, however, the printing must be easy to read. 

How can I get an Alaska Interested Persons Report (IPR)? 
This is a specific type of criminal history that can be obtained through the Alaska Dept. of Public Safety 
(DPS). You can go to a DPS office, to a State Trooper base, or go to the DPS web site at 
http://www.dps.state.ak.us/Statewide/background/index.asp. There is a $20 fee for this report. It must be 
current, which means within the 90 days before the date of EMT application. 

 



 

How can I get an Alaska Driving Record? 
In Alaska, a person can request a driving record by mail, by fax or by going to any DMV office and 
showing proper identification. Information on how this can be done can be found at 
http://www.state.ak.us/local/akpages/ADMIN/dmv/akol/recordfx.htm. 

I am recertifying as an EMT, and I previously disclosed my criminal convictions and 
submitted the required materials. Do I have to submit the same materials (affidavit, IPR, 
or Driving Record for recertification? 
If you have previously submitted all the required information and you are recertifying at the same level, 
you may not need to submit a new affidavit, IPR or driving record. You can contact the Section of Injury 
Prevention and EMS about specific cases. 

I am currently certified as an EMT, but I am moving to a new or different level. Do I have 
to submit the same materials (affidavit, IPR, or Driving Record) for this certification? 
Since this is an entirely new EMS certification, all materials must be submitted with this initial 
application. This would include a new affidavit, a new IPR and, if the conviction is for a driving offence, 
a new driving record. 

                                                      
I 7 AAC 26.950 
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