Application for Initial Certification
ETT Instructor

Section of Injury Prevention and Emergency Medical Services
PO Box 110616, Juneau, AK 99811-0616
(907) 465-3027 FAX: (907) 465-6736

http://www.chems.a aska.gov
Name; SSN:
Complete Mailing Address: Date of Birth:
Home Phone:
Gender (Optional): Male Female Work Phone:
EMS Affiliation/s: E-mail Address:
Ethnic Origin (Optional):
White Black Hispanic AmericanIndian AlaskaNative Asian or Pacific Islander Other:
APPLICATION CHECKLIST

O Completed, signed and notarized application for certification;

O Must be 18 years of age or older

O Evidence of valid medical credential (ETT, First Responder, EMT, MICP, RN, PA-C, MD, DO);

O Evidence of 1 year of experienceasan ETT, First Responder EM T, Paramedic;

O Valid CPR credential; see website for specific qualifying classes:
www.chems.alaska.gov/EM S/training/CM E.htm

O Completion of the ETT Instructor written examination with a score of 90% or greater within no more than two
attempts made no more than one year and no less than 10 days before attending the course (Date exam taken:

)

O Demonstrate competence performing the following practical skills (airway, management, patient assessment,
bleeding control and shock management, splinting and spinal immobilization) to an ETT or EMT instructor
within the past year; and

O Completion of the instructor training program.

O A non-refundable $25 fee (according to 7 AAC26.080).

Please review this checklist carefully. Failureto submit a complete application will result

in adelay in the certification process.
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People with certain criminal convictions are not eligible to be certified asan EMT or EMS Instructor under 7
AAC 26.950. If an applicant has criminal convictions, he or she must submit additional materials that can be
used by the staff at IPEM S to determine eligibility for certification.

CRIMINAL HISTORY QUESTIONS

These three questions must be completed by all applicants

Name:

Yes* No Question

Have you EVER been convicted of afelony violation of federal or state law?

Have you been convicted of a misdemeanor violation of federal or state law, excluding minor
traffic violations, within the last fifteen years?

Have you EVER been convicted of aviolation of federal or state law pertaining to medical practice
or drugs?

*|F ANY OF THE ABOVE QUESTIONS WERE ANSWERED “YES”
Y OU MUST SUBMIT THE FOLLOWING REQUIRED MATERIALS:

e An Affidavit’;
¢ AnInterested Persons Report (IPR).?

FACTORS AFFECTING THE TIME FRAME FOR BARRIER CRIMES AND INELIGIBILITY

Crimes that may be a barrier to certification arelisted in 7 AAC 26.950 (a) and (b). Crimeslistedin 7 AAC 26.950 (@) are permanent
barriersto certification. The duration of the applicant’sineligibly for certification due to a conviction for acrimelistedin 7 AAC
26.950 (b) may be lengthened or shortened based on 7 AAC 26.950 (f). The factors which may be considered are:

The seriousness or frequency of the offense;

The length of time since the offense;

Evidence of rehabilitation;

The satisfactory completion of al sentencing requirements; and
The potentia danger posed to the public by an individual.

! See page 3 of this application.
% Available from the Alaska Department of Public Safety at http:/www.dps.state.ak.us/Statewide/background/default.aspx
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INSTRUCTIONS FOR AFFIDAVITS

An affidavit is awritten declaration signed under oath before a notary public or other authorized officer. For an EMT
application, these authorized officersinclude: postmaster, clerk of court, judge, magistrate, state trooper, authorized state
employee or certifying officer.

When applying for EMT certification, an affidavit must include:

the date of the conviction;
the official name of the offense(s),
the sentence or treatment requirements imposed,;
the status of the sentence or treatment required; and
any other information you believe is relevant to your application for EMT certification, including statements about
the five factors included under 7 AAC 26.950 (f):
0 The seriousness or frequency of the offense;
The length of time since the offense;
Evidence of rehabilitation;
The satisfactory completion of al sentencing requirements; and
The potentia danger posed to the public by an individual.

O OO0 O

The affidavit MUST be signed in the presence of a notary public, postmaster, clerk of court, judge, magistrate, state trooper or
authorized state employee or EMS certifying officer.

An affidavit does not need to be typed, but it must be legible.

The Section of Injury Prevention and EM S reserves the right to require the submission of relevant documents, including court
documents, prior to determining whether a certificate should be issued.

Failureto disclose convictions may be considered “fraud or deceit in obtaining a certificate” and is, in
itself, groundsfor the suspension, revocation, or refusal to issue a certificate.

NOTE: Regulations require EMTs and Instructors to notify the department in writing within 30 days after
being charged with an offense that is a class A misdemeanor or afelony under the law of this state or an
offense with substantially similar elements in another jurisdiction.®

% 7 AAC 26.950 (b) (4)
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1 Provide a copy of a card, certificate, or license evidencing at least one of the following valid credentials:
e Alaska Emergency Trauma Technician registration
EMT-1, EMT-2, or EMT-3 issued by the Department of Health and Social Services;

[ ]
e First Responder, EMT-Basic, EMT-Intermediate, or EMT-Paramedic by the National Registry of EMTs;
e Authorization to practice in the state as a Mobile Intensive Care Paramedic (MICP); or
e Authorization to practice in the state as a physician, physician assistant or registered nurse.
2. Provide evidence of experienceasan EMT or EM T-Paramedic

Applicantsfor ETT Instructor certification, must have at least one (1) year of experienceasan ETT, First
Responder, EMT, or Paramedic.

Certification Level: | State where Certification Held: Dates of Certification:
3. Provide evidence of Instructor Training
Training Dates L ocation Contact Person
(name and phone
number)

ETT Methods-of-Instruction
Training (24 hour):

M ethods-of-Instruction
Training (40 hour):

Alaska-Specific EMS
Orientation:

Basic Instructor Orientation:

Other (Iist):

NOTE: CPR Verification

Attach tothis application evidence of avalid CPR card from the American Heart Association, American Red
Cross, or other CPR training agency approved by the Department of Health and Social Services (approved
classes listed at www.chems.alaska.gov/EM S/training/CM E.htm) in accordance with 7 AAC 26.985. The CPR
card evidenced successful completion of a course which taught adult, child, and infant CPR and airway obstruction
skills, including two rescuer CPR and barrier devices.
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RELEASE OF INFORMATION AND VERIFYING SIGNATURE

I , residing at

, authorize the Department of Health and Social Services, Section of Injury Prevention and
Emergency Medical Services, to examine my EM S education records and any law enforcement records pertaining directly to this
application for certification, and to discuss them with persons having possession of them. | also expressly permit and authorize
release of such records pertaining directly to this application for certification to the Department of Health and Social Services, Section
of Injury Prevention and Emergency Medical Services.

| request that, upon presentation of this release, or atrue copy, that you provide copies of those records to the Section of Injury
Prevention and EM S and/or representatives of the office of the Attorney General of the State of Alaska.

| authorize the Section of Injury Prevention and EMS to discuss my records with persons or organizations which are considered
appropriate by the Section in connection with an official investigation, and to provide copies of my records to those persons or
organizations, if appropriate.

| understand that records disclosed to the department may become part of a public record and may not be protected from further
disclosure by law.

This authorization is given expressly in connection with my application for certification as an Emergency Medical Technician,
Defibrillator Technician or EMS Instructor in Alaska., This authorization expires one year form the date of my signature or at the
expiration of my certification, whichever islast.

| acknowledge that | haveread and under stand the entire application for certification.
| further certify, under penalty of perjury, that the foregoing is complete, true and accurate.

Signature of Applicant Date

1 (IN THE PRESENCE OF A NOTARY PUBLIC, POSTMASTER, CLERK OF COURT, JUDGE, MAGISTRATE,
STATE TROOPER OR AUTHORIZED STATE EMPLOYEE, IF SUCH OFFICIAL ISAVAILABLE, THE
APPLICANT MUST SIGN ABOVE AND THE SIGNATURE MUST BE VERIFIED IN THIS SPACE.)

THISISTO CERTIFY that on this day of , , before me appeared
to me known and known to me to be the person named in and who executed the
foregoing instrument and acknowledged voluntarily signing and sealing the same.

My Commission Expires

OR

(2 (IF THERE ISNO NOTARY PUBLIC, POSTMASTER, CLERK OF COURT, JUDGE, MAGISTRATE, STATE
TROOPER OR AUTHORIZED STATE EMPLOYEE AVAILABLE, IN THE PRESENCE OF A CERTIFYING
OFFICER, THE APPLICANT MUST SIGN ABOVE AND SIGNATURE MUST BE VERIFIED IN THIS SPACE.)

| certify under penalty of perjury that the foregoing istrue and accurate. No Notary Public, Postmaster, Clerk of the Court, Judge,
Magistrate, State Trooper or authorized State employee is available.

Signature of State Approved Location
EMS Certifying Officer
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Payment of Fees Invoice Number: 006

A non-refundable $25 fee is required. Please check the applicable box below. Checks or money orders
are payable to the State of Alaska. For payment by credit card, complete the section below. For payment with
Purchase Order, attach document to application.

Check O Money Order O Purchase Order O
Check Number: PO Number:

Credit Card Payment

The Section of Injury Prevention and Emergency Medical Services will accept Visaand MasterCard
payment of fees. Please complete the following information for us to process your payment. A receipt will be
forwarded to you with your final certification documentation.

Please print clearly:

Visa O MasterCard O

Name as it appears on your credit card:

Credit Card Account Number: - - -

Security Code (3 digit codelocated onback of card): ~~ Expiration Date: /

Billing Address for Credit Card:

City: State:
Zip Code:
Credit Card Holder’ s Phone ( )
Total non-refundable authorized payment of $25 or $ (if more than one applicant) will be

charged to your account. Y ou agree to pay this amount according to your cardholder agreement.

Card Holder Signature (Required) Date

If more than one applicant list names (attach additional pages as needed or cover page):
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I mportant Notes Regarding This Application

The information contained in this application for certification and in your permanent EMS certification record at the State EM S Office
is considered a"Public Record" and is not protected from disclosure by law. By completing this application and signing it in the
presence of aNotary Public, EMS Certifying Officer, or other authorized person, you are confirming the accuracy of the information
entered on the application.

Y our EMS certification records may be kept in electronic, paper, and microfilm formats. Y ou have aright to request a copy of your
records at any time. Any individual has the right to inspect and copy public records under reasonable rules and during regular office
hours. All requests must be made in writing. Information which is non-disclosable will not be made available.

The Department may charge afee for searching and copying its records in accordance with AS 40.25.110 and 6 AAC 96.130.

It isthe responsihility of the applicant to keep the Department informed of his or her current mailing address. The Department will
send correspondence, including applications for recertification, to the address on file.

If anindividual believesinformation contained in his or her certification records is incorrect, the individual should notify the Section,
in writing, of the perceived error. The address of the EMS Section is:

Section of Injury Prevention & EMS
Department of Health and Socia Services
Box 110616

Juneau, AK 99811-0616

More information about public records in Alaska can be obtained by reviewing AS 40.25.110 — 40.25.220 and 6 AAC 96.010 — 6
AAC 96.900.
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Use of Social Security Numbersin Certification of EM S Personnel Under AS 18.08

Introduction and Overview: The Privacy Act of 1974, as amended, 5 U.S.C. § 552a(1994) prohibits a federal, state or local government from
denying an individual any right, benefit or privilege provided by law because of the individual’s refusal to disclose his Social Security numbers
(SSN). This section does not apply to any disclosure which isrequired by federal statute. The law further requires agencies collecting Social
Security numbers to provide information about how the information will be used. This document provides information about the collection and use
of Social Security numbers by the Section of Injury Prevention and EMS (IPEMS) of the Alaska Department of Health and Social Services for the
purposes of certifying individuals under Alaska Statute 18.08.010 —18.08.090.

Under What Authority Does IPEM S Collect SSNs? Federal and state laws regarding child support enforcement and federal debt collection
require state agenciesto deny licenses to those who are significantly delinquent in paying their child support or student loan obligations. (See
Personal Responsibility and Work Opportunity Reconciliation Act of 1996 - 42 USC 666(a)(13); Debt Collection Improvement Act of 1996 - 31
USC 7701(c) for more information).

Child Support. AS 25.27.244 (a) (Adverse Action Against Delinquent Obligor's Occupational License), requires the Child Support Enforcement
Agency to provide alist of delinquent obligorsto IPEM S each month and IPEM S must take action to withhold the occupational license of each
identified delinquent obligor. The definition of “license” includes authorization under AS 18.08 to perform emergency medical services. AS
25.27.244(s)(2)(A)(iv).

Under AS 18.08.082, the department certifies emergency medical technicians, defibrillator technicians, emergency medical technician instructors,
emergency trauma technician instructors, mobile intensive care paramedic course coordinators and emergency medical dispatchers. AS 18.05.030
compels the department to cooperate with the federal government and provide information it requires.

Student Loans. AS 14.43.148(a) (Nonrenewal of License) allows the nonrenewal of occupational license for a person who isin default on aloan
made by the Commission on Postsecondary Education. AS 14.43.148 (h)(1)(A) (iv) defines "license" to include authorization under AS 18.08 to
perform emergency medical services.

How the SSN is Used? To comply with federal and state laws, we use our certification datato confirm if licensees are in default of their child
support and postsecondary education loans, based on the lists of defaulted obligors which are provided to IPEMS. IPEMS may provide limited
certification data to the other agencies to clarify an ambiguous entry on thelists. In addition, the SSN is used within the EMS Test Correction
system to match test scores electronically with certification records. SSNs are not used for other purposes and are not displayed on certification
materials. Adverse actions against health care providers, e.g. revocation of certification, are required to be reported to the federal government. The
provider's SSN will be reported as part of this required report.

IsProviding Your SSN Mandatory? Yes, for the reasons cited above, we are required to collect SSNs. Applications on which the SSN is not
provided will be considered incomplete. The application will not be processed and no certificate will be issued until the SSN is provided. It should
be noted that Social Security numbers can be assigned, by the Social Security Administration, to foreign workers who are authorized to work in the
United States.

Summary: In order to become certified to provide emergency medical services under AS 18.08, a person must disclose their Social Security
number. The Section of Injury Prevention and EM S uses the number for purposes required by statute and internally to match test scores with
certification records. SSNs are not disclosed except as required by law and efforts are made to maintain the security and privacy of personal
information.
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