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Frequently Asked Questions about EMS in Alaska 
 
What are the requirements for Paramedic licensing in Alaska for out of state applicants? 
 
Paramedic licensure in Alaska is covered by 12 AAC 40.300-40.390. They are excerpted below: 
 
12 AAC 40.310 QUALIFICATIONS FOR INITIAL LICENSE  
(a) An applicant for a mobile intensive care paramedic license must 

(1) be 19 years of age or older; 

(2) be a high school graduate; 

(3) provide a letter from the applicant’s physician sponsor verifying that the applicant 

will, at all times, be under the supervision of a physician sponsor approved by the board, 

as required by 12 AAC 40.315; 

(4) submit a certified copy of the applicant’s paramedic education program certificate or 

an original letter, signed by the education program director and sent directly to the 

division from the program director, verifying completion of a training program that meets 

the requirements of 12 AAC 40.320; 

(5) following the successful completion of the classroom and clinical portions of the 

board approved curriculum, have satisfactorily completed a 480-hour internship that 

meets the requirements of 12 AAC 40.325; 

(6) pass the written and practical examination for emergency medical technician-

paramedic administered by the National Registry of Emergency Medical Technicians; 

and 

(7) submit verification of licensure from the appropriate licensing authority in each state, 

territory, or province where the applicant holds or has ever held a license as a paramedic 

or other health care professional; and 

(8) submit the applicable fees established in 12 AAC 02.250. 

(b) An applicant for licensure as a mobile intensive care paramedic who is currently licensed in 

another state must fulfill the requirements of (a)(1) – (4) and (6) – (8) of this section and 

(1) may not be currently under suspension or revocation as a mobile intensive care 

paramedic, or emergency medical technician- paramedic, or the equivalent, and may not 

be the subject of an unresolved investigation, complaint review procedure, or disciplinary 

proceeding undertaken by a certifying or licensing agency in another state; and 
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(2) must submit written verification from the applicant’s previous physician sponsor, on a 

form approved by the department, attesting that the applicant is capable of performing the 

activities listed in 12 AAC 40.370(a) plus any other specific emergency procedures 

authorized by the physician sponsor. 

(c) The board will, in its discretion, require an applicant to provide additional documentation 

necessary to verify the applicant’s education or experience. 

 
(Eff. 1/13/80, Register 73; am 5/11/85, Register 94; am 8/20/87, Register 103; am 4/10/88, Register 106; 
am 8/24/90, Register 115; am 6/15/2001, Register 158) 

 

Which agency is responsible for licensing Paramedics in Alaska; how can that agency be 
reached? 

The Alaska State Medical Board is the governing body for Paramedic licensure in Alaska.  They 
can be reached at: 

Medical Board Licensing Examiner 
Department of Commerce and Economic Development 
Division of Occupational Licensing 
P.O. Box 110806 
Juneau, AK  99811-0806 

 
 

Executive Administrator: Leslie Gallant   (907) 561-2878 
Licensing Examiner: Vickie P. Stewart  (for names starting with A-K) (907) 465-2756 
 Linda Sherwood   (for names starting with L-Z) (907) 465-2541 
Web site: http://www.dced.state.ak.us/occ/pmed.htm  
 

What are the requirements for EMT certification in Alaska for out of state applicants? 

Comity for EMT certification in Alaska is covered by 7 AAC 26.150. This regulation is listed 
below: 

7 AAC 26.150 COMITY 

(a) The department will issue a certificate for the equivalent level to a person who has a valid 

certification as an EMT-I, EMT-II, or EMT-III or the equivalent in another state or territory or 

has a valid certification from the National Registry of Emergency Medical Technicians, if the 

person provides the department with the following:  
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(1) a copy of the valid state, territory, or National Registry certification;  

(2) evidence of a valid CPR credential;  

(3) other proof that the department will require as necessary to assess the person's 

qualifications;  

(4) evidence of successful completion of the written and practical examination, 

administered by the department, at the level for which the person is applying, unless the 

person is applying for certification as an EMT-I;  

(5) for applicants for EMT-II or EMT-III certification, evidence of the 

sponsorship of a medical director, approved by the department, who accepts the 

responsibilities set out in 7 AAC 26.640; and  

(6) a non-refundable application fee of $25.  

(b) Repealed 8/16/2002.  

(c) Repealed 8/16/2002.  

(d) A person who is certified or licensed in another state or territory as an EMT-I, or 

equivalent, but whose training does not include the objectives contained in the United States 

Department of Transportation, National Standard Curriculum for the Emergency Medical 

Technician: Basic, 1994, will be issued an EMT-I certificate valid until December 31 of the year 

of application, but the person must take a department-approved refresher training program and 

must apply for recertification as an EMT-I in order to practice as an EMT-I after that date.  

(e) When providing mutual aid, and when treating and transporting a patient to or within 

this state, a person who is licensed or certified in another state, territory, or nation, as an EMT, 

mobile intensive care paramedic, or some other designation as an emergency medical responder, 

may provide care consistent with the scope of practice in the state, territory, or nation of origin, 

so long as medical direction is provided by a physician for advanced life support procedures, and 

the care is not precluded by the laws of the state, territory, or nation of origin.  
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(f) The department will, in its discretion, issue an EMT-I, EMT-II, or EMT-III certificate 

to a person living in another state, territory, or nation, if the person will provide care in this state 

under a mutual aid agreement with an emergency medical service certified under AS 18.08 and 

this chapter. The applicant must meet the requirements of 7 AAC 26.030, except that a person 

providing advanced life support may be under the sponsorship of a physician licensed in the 

other state, territory, or nation who agrees to fulfill the requirements outlined in 7 AAC 26.640.  

(g) An applicant under this section may not have a history that includes one or more of 

the grounds for denial of certification set out  

(1) in 7 AAC 26.950(a) ; or  

(2) in 7 AAC 26.950(b) unless the department's consideration of one or more of 

the factors in 7 AAC 26.950(f) (1) - (5) results in a finding that issuance of the certificate 

is appropriate. (History: Eff. 12/31/81, Register 80; am 10/14/84, Register 92; am 

10/23/92, Register 124; am 5/29/93, Register 126; am 5/22/96, Register 138; am 

6/23/2001, Register 158; am 8/16/2002, Register 163) 

Authority: AS 18.08.080  AS 18.08.082  AS 18.08.084  

Editor's note: The publications mentioned in 7 AAC 26.150 are available for a fee from 

the emergency medical services section, Department of Health and Social Services, P.O. 

Box 110616, Juneau, Alaska 99811-0616.  
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Which agency is responsible for certifying EMTs in Alaska; how can that agency be reached? 

Comity for EMT Certification is considered by the State of Alaska Injury Prevention and Emergency 
Medical Services Office (IPEMS). 

Injury Prevention and Emergency Medical Services Section 
Division of Public Health 
Alaska Department of Health and Social Services 
PO Box 110616 
Juneau, AK 99811-0616 

 
Certification Specialist:  Zoann Murphy (465-3029)  zoann_murphy@health.state.ak.us 
Web Site:      www.chems.alaska.gov 

 
 
“Where do I get more information about training opportunities within Alaska?”  
 

Region Address Telephone (907) Fax (907) 
Interior Region  Interior Region EMS Council, 

Inc. 
3522 Industrial Drive 
Fairbanks, AK  99701 

456-3978 456-3970 

North Slope North Slope Borough EMS 
P.O. Box  69 
Barrow, AK  99723 

852-0307 852-0388 

Northwest Arctic Maniilaq Association 
EMS Program 
P.O. Box 259 
Kotzebue, AK  99752 

442-7695 442-7678 

Norton Sound Norton Sound Health 
Corporation 
EMS Program 
P.O. Box  966 
Nome, AK  99762 

443-3306 443-3731 

Southeast Region Southeast Region EMS Council, 
Inc. 
100 Clothilde Bahovec Way 
Sitka, AK  99835 

747-8005 747-1406 

Southern Region Southern Region EMS Council, 
Inc. 
6130 Tuttle Place 
Anchorage, AK  99507 

562-6449 562-9893 

Yukon-Kuskokwim Yukon/Kuskokwim Health 
Corporation 
EMS Program 
P.O. Box 528 
Bethel, AK  99559 

543-6078 543-6079 
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What is the job market like in Alaska 
 
There are a wide variety of EMS employers within the state.  Some fire departments, ambulance services, 
and medevac services utilize EMTs and or Paramedics.  There are jobs in very remote communities as 
well as in Anchorage, the largest municipality in the state.  Many communities use a combination of paid 
and volunteer responders.  
 
 
What are the entry level wages? 
 
Wages vary widely depending on location within the state.  
 
Firefighter/EMTs   $36,000-42,000/yr 
Firefighter/Paramedics  $37,080-46,000/yr 
Non-fire Paramedics  $26,000-38,000/yr 
 
Some agencies have significant pay raises after probationary period is completed. 
 
Where can I find out about job opportunities? 
 
When the State EMS Office is contacted about a job opening, the opening is posted on the EMS list 
server and on the web site discussion board. You can subscribe to the list server or enter the discussion 
board on the CHEMS web site www.chems.alaska.gov.  Not all jobs are listed in these forums so those 
interested in employment can also contact potential employers directly.  
 
 
Which EMS agencies should I contact for applications? 
 
Anchorage Fire Department is the largest EMS provider in the state.  Its web site is 
http://www.ci.anchorage.ak.us/Services/Departments/Afd51/.  If interested, contact the Job Hotline at 
(907) 343-4451. 
 
A list of EMS provider agencies is available for downloading from www.chems.alaska.gov 
 
 
Where can I get more information on relocation? 
 
The official State of Alaska web site has a section about relocating to Alaska. The link to the site is 
http://www.dced.state.ak.us/tourism/relocating/relocation.htm.  
Many local communities also have web sites that offer information about their communities. 
 


