Frequently-Asked Questions About Mandatory Reporting Requirements

This “Frequently-Asked Questions” (FAQ) document is based on Alaska Statutes and Regulations and represents the best interpretation available from the Section of Community Health and EMS.  Readers are encouraged to refer to the applicable law when questions arise.  The Alaska Statutes and Regulations are available on-line through the Department of Law at: http://www.law.state.ak.us.
During training I was told to report gunshots, stab wounds and severe burns to the Department of Public Safety.  Is there a formal procedure I should follow?

AS 08.64.369 requires health care professionals to report 5 categories of injuries to the Department of Public Safety (DPS):

(1) second or third degree burns to five percent or more of a patient's body; 

(2) a burn to a patient's upper respiratory tract or laryngeal edema due to the inhalation of super-heated air; 

(3) a bullet wound, powder burn, or other injury apparently caused by the discharge of a firearm; 

(4) an injury apparently caused by a knife, axe, or other sharp or pointed instrument, unless the injury was clearly accidental; and 

(5) an injury that is likely to cause the death of the patient, unless the injury was clearly accidental.

An ORAL report must be made 'promptly' to DPS of all five injuries; in addition, a WRITTEN report be must made within three days on a DPS form for the burn injuries.  To report non-burn and non-accidental mortal injuries, call the police or troopers.   

Where can I get a copy of the burn reporting form?

From the Division of Fire Prevention in Anchorage at 269-5491, the Section of Community Health and Emergency Medical Services in Juneau at 465-3027 or you can download the form from our website at: http://chems.alaska.gov/ems_downloads_applications_forms.htm. 

To what address should I send the form?

Alaska Department of Public Safety

Division of Fire Prevention

5700 E. Tudor Road

Anchorage, AK 99507
What if I suspect child or elder abuse on a call?

Child abuse.  PRIVATE 
EMTs and paramedics are considered to be required to report child abuse.  Under AS 47.17.020  a report of a suspicion of child abuse or neglect should be made directly to the Office of Children’s Services of the Department of Health and Social Services (OCS).  If  you can’t reasonably contact OCS, a report must be made to the nearest peace officer.  Notifying your medical director, EMS supervisor or the receiving facility is not sufficient to comply with the reporting requirements.

Statewide number: 1-800-478-4444        

Vulnerable Adult Abuse.  Under AS 47.24.010  you must report suspicions that a vulnerable adult suffers from abandonment, exploitation, abuse, neglect, or self neglect.  A vulnerable adult is a PRIVATE 


tc "Reports of Harm"person 18 years of age or older who, because of physical or mental impairment, is unable to meet his or her own needs or to seek help without assistance.  You must make the report to the Division of Senior Services within 24 hours after you first suspect abuse.  If the office is closed, contact the local law enforcement agency immediately and make the report of harm to the Division of Senior Services the next business day.  

Statewide number: 1-800-478-9996       Anchorage: 269-3666
Can I be sued for filing a report of suspected abuse?

The statutes provide immunity from civil or criminal liability for a person who makes a good faith report of suspected abuse.
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