
Form 06-1556 rev. 12/2013 Page (1) 

Application for Initial Certification 
EMT-1 Instructor 

Department Of Health & Social Services 
Division of Public Health

Section of Emergency Programs
 P.O. Box 110616, Juneau, AK 99811-0616 

Phone: (907) 465-8741
http://www.ems.alaska.gov

Name: SSN: 

Complete Mailing Address: Date of Birth: 

Home Phone: 

             Gender:  Male  Female Work Phone: 

EMS Affiliation/s: E-mail Address: 

APPLICATION CHECKLIST 
 Completed, signed and notarized application for certification; 

 Evidence of valid medical credential (EMT, MICP, RN, PA-C, MD, DO); 

 Evidence of experience as an EMT or EMT-Paramedic (not required for Alaska MICPs); 

 Valid CPR instructor credential or signed waiver; 

 Completion of the EMT-1 written examination with a score of 90% or greater within no more than two attempts 
made no more than one year and no less than 10 days before attending the course (Date exam taken:  
____________________); 

 Completion of a department-administered practical examination for EMT-1, 2, or 3 or National Registry EMT-
Basic, EMT-Intermediate, or EMT-Paramedic within the last year (Date exam taken: ______________); 

 Completion of the instructor training program (Methods of Instruction; Alaska-Specific EMS Orientation, and 
Basic Instructor Orientation); and 

 A non-refundable $25 fee (according to 7 AAC26.080). 

Please review the application checklist above. 
Failure to submit a complete application will result in a delay in the certification process. 

White Black  Hispanic
Ethnic Origin (Optional):     

American Indian            Alaska Native Asian or Pacific Islander Other:   ________________



1 See page 3 of this application. 

2 Available from the Alaska Department of Public Safety at http://www.dps.state.ak.us/Statewide/background/default.aspx 
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People with certain criminal convictions are not eligible to be certified as an EMT or EMS Instructor under 7 
AAC 26.950.  If an applicant has criminal convictions, he or she must submit additional materials that can be 
used by the staff at Section of Emergency Programs to determine eligibility for certification. 

CRIMINAL HISTORY QUESTIONS 
These three questions must be completed by all applicants 

Name: 

Yes* No Question 

Have you EVER been convicted of a felony violation of federal or state law? 

Have you been convicted of a misdemeanor violation of federal or state law, excluding minor 
traffic violations, within the last fifteen years? 

Have you EVER been convicted of a violation of federal or state law pertaining to medical practice 
or drugs? 

*I F  A NY  OF  T H E  A B OV E  QUE ST I ONS W E R E  A NSW E R E D “ Y E S”
Y OU M UST  SUB M I T  T H E  F OL L OW I NG  R E QUI R E D M A T E R I A L S:  

• An Affidavit1;
• An Interested Persons Report (IPR).2

F A C T OR S A F F E C T I NG  T H E  T I M E  F R A M E  F OR  B A R R I E R  C R I M E S A ND I NE L I G I B I L I T Y  
Crimes that may be a barrier to certification are listed in 7 AAC 26.950 (a) and (b).  Crimes listed in 7 AAC 26.950 (a) are permanent 
barriers to certification.  The duration of the applicant’s ineligibly for certification due to a conviction for a crime listed in 7 AAC 
26.950 (b) may be lengthened or shortened based on 7 AAC 26.950 (f).  The factors which may be considered are:  

• The seriousness or frequency of the offense;
• The length of time since the offense;
• Evidence of rehabilitation;
• The satisfactory completion of all sentencing requirements; and
• The potential danger posed to the public by an individual.

http://www.dps.state.ak.us/Statewide/background/default.aspx


7 AAC 26.950 (b) (4) 
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INSTRUCTIONS FOR AFFIDAVITS 

An affidavit is a written declaration signed under oath before a notary public or other authorized officer.  For an EMT 
application, these authorized officers include: postmaster, clerk of court, judge, magistrate, state trooper, authorized state 
employee or certifying officer. 

When applying for EMT certification, an affidavit must include: 

• the date of the conviction;
• the official name of the offense(s),
• the sentence or treatment requirements imposed;
• the status of the sentence or treatment required; and
• any other information you believe is relevant to your application for EMT certification, including statements about

the five factors included under 7 AAC 26.950 (f):
o The seriousness or frequency of the offense;
o The length of time since the offense;
o Evidence of rehabilitation;
o The satisfactory completion of all sentencing requirements; and
o The potential danger posed to the public by an individual.

The affidavit MUST be signed in the presence of a notary public, postmaster, clerk of court, judge, magistrate, state trooper or 
authorized state employee or EMS certifying officer. 

An affidavit does not need to be typed, but it must be legible. 

The Section of Emergency Programs and EMS reserves the right to require the submission of relevant documents, 
including court documents, prior to determining whether a certificate should be issued. 

Failure to disclose convictions may be considered “fraud or deceit in obtaining a certificate” and is, in 
itself, grounds for the suspension, revocation, or refusal to issue a certificate. 

NOTE:  Regulations require EMTs and Instructors to notify the Department in writing within 30 days 
after being charged with an offense that is a class A misdemeanor or a felony under the law of this state or 
an offense with substantially similar elements in another jurisdiction.3 

3



Form 06-1556 rev. 12/2013 Page (4) 

1. Provide a copy of a card, certificate, or license evidencing at least one of the following valid credentials:
• EMT-1, EMT-2, or EMT-3 issued by the Department of Health and Social Services;
• EMT-Basic, EMT-Intermediate, or EMT-Paramedic by the National Registry of EMTs;
• Authorization to practice in the state as a Mobile Intensive Care Paramedic (MICP); or
• Authorization to practice in the state as a physician, physician assistant or registered nurse.

2. Provide evidence of experience as an EMT or EMT-Paramedic
Applicants for EMT-1 Instructor certification who are using the following credentials, must have at least three (3) years of
experience as an EMT or EMT-Paramedic.
• EMT-1, EMT-2, or EMT-3 by the Department of Health and Social Services;
• EMT-Basic, EMT-Intermediate, or EMT-Paramedic by the National Registry of EMTs; or
• Authorization to practice in the state as a physician, physician assistant or registered nurse.

Certification Level: State where Certification Held: Dates of Certification: 

3. Provide evidence of Instructor Training

4. CPR Verification 
ATTACH to this application evidence of a valid CPR card from the American Heart Association, American

Red Cross, or other CPR training agency approved by the Department of Health and Social Services (approved 
classes listed at www.chems.alaska.gov/EMS/training/CME.htm) in accordance with 7 AAC 26.985.  The CPR card 
evidenced successful completion of a course which taught adult, child, and infant CPR and airway obstruction skills, 
including two rescuer CPR and barrier devices.  

OR 

Request for a Waiver of CPR Instructor Certification 

I am requesting that the requirement for evidence of a valid CPR Instructor certification be waived.  I will ensure that the 
CPR portions of any EMT courses for which I am the primary instructor will be taught by a person who has a valid CPR 
instructor certification. 

Signature of Applicant: Date: 

Training Dates Location Contact Person (name and phone 
number) 

Methods-of-Instruction 
Training: 

Alaska-Specific EMS 
Orientation: 

Basic Instructor 
Orientation: 

Other (list): 

http://www.chems.alaska.gov/EMS/training/CME.htm
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Payment of Fees 

A non-refundable $25 fee is required.  Please check the applicable box below.  Checks or money orders 
are payable to the State of Alaska.  For payment by credit card, complete the section below. For payment with 
Purchase Order, attach document to application.  

Check       Money Order   
Check Number: ___________ 

Credit Card Payment 

The Section of Emergency Programs will accept Visa and MasterCard payment of fees.  Please 
complete the following information for us to process your payment.  A receipt will be forwarded to you 
with your final certification documentation. 

Please print clearly: 

Visa MasterCard 

Name as it appears on your credit card:  __________________________________________________  

Credit Card Account Number: ___  ___  ___  ___ - ___  ___  ___  ___ - ___  ___  ___  ___ - ___  ___  ___  ___ 

Security Code (3 digit code located on back of card): ___ ___ ___   Expiration Date:  _________/__________ 

Billing Address for Credit Card: _____________________________________________________ 

City: _____________________________ State: ______________ 

Zip Code: ______________  

Credit Card Holder’s Phone   (_____) _________________________________ 

Total non-refundable authorized payment of $25 or $_________________ (if more than one applicant) will be 
charged to your account.  You agree to pay this amount according to your cardholder agreement.  

______________________________________________ _______________________ 
Card Holder Signature (Required)  Date 

If more than one applicant list names (attach additional pages as needed or cover page): 

___________________________________ __________________________________ 
___________________________________ __________________________________ 
___________________________________ __________________________________ 
___________________________________ __________________________________ 
___________________________________ __________________________________ 
___________________________________ __________________________________ 
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RELEASE OF INFORMATION AND VERIFYING SIGNATURE 

I, ___________________________________________________, residing at ___________________________________ 

_______________________________, authorize the Department of Health and Social Services, Section of Emergency 
Programs to examine my EMS education records and any law enforcement records pertaining directly to this application for 
certification, and to discuss them with persons having possession of them.  I also expressly permit and authorize release of 
such records pertaining directly to this application for certification to the Department of Health and Social Services, Section of 
Emergency Programs. 

I request that, upon presentation of this release, or a true copy, that you provide copies of those records to the Section 
of Emergency Programs and/or representatives of the office of the Attorney General of the State of Alaska. 

I authorize the Section of Emergency Programs to discuss my records with persons or organizations which are considered 
appropriate by the Section in connection with an official investigation, and to provide copies of my records to those 
persons or organizations, if appropriate. 

I understand that records disclosed to the Department may become part of a public record and may not be protected 
from further disclosure by law. 

This authorization is given expressly in connection with my application for certification as an Emergency Medical 
Technician, Defibrillator Technician or EMS Instructor in Alaska.  This authorization expires one year form the date of my 
signature or at the expiration of my certification, whichever is last. 

I acknowledge that I have read and understand the entire application for certification.   
I further certify, under penalty of perjury, that the foregoing is complete, true and accurate. 

_______________________________________________ ________________________ 
Signature of Applicant                                Date 

1. (IN THE PRESENCE OF A NOTARY PUBLIC, POSTMASTER, CLERK OF COURT, JUDGE, MAGISTRATE,
STATE TROOPER OR AUTHORIZED STATE EMPLOYEE, IF SUCH OFFICIAL IS AVAILABLE, THE
APPLICANT MUST SIGN ABOVE AND THE SIGNATURE MUST BE VERIFIED IN THIS SPACE.)

THIS IS TO CERTIFY that on this ________ day of ________________, ________, before me appeared 
_____________________________________ to me known and known to me to be the person named in and who executed the 
foregoing instrument and acknowledged voluntarily signing and sealing the same. 

_______________________________________________  My Commission Expires ________________ 

OR 

(2) (IF THERE IS NO NOTARY PUBLIC, POSTMASTER, CLERK OF COURT, JUDGE, MAGISTRATE, STATE 
TROOPER OR AUTHORIZED STATE EMPLOYEE AVAILABLE, IN THE PRESENCE OF A CERTIFYING 
OFFICER, THE APPLICANT MUST SIGN ABOVE AND SIGNATURE MUST BE VERIFIED IN THIS SPACE.) 

I certify under penalty of perjury that the foregoing is true and accurate.  No Notary Public, Postmaster, Clerk of the Court, Judge, 
Magistrate, State Trooper or authorized State employee is available. 

_______________________________________________ ________________________ 
Signature of State Approved     Location 
EMS Certifying Officer 
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Important Notes Regarding This Application 

The information contained in this application for certification and in your permanent EMS certification record at the State EMS Office 
is considered a "Public Record" and is not protected from disclosure by law.  By completing this application and signing it in the 
presence of a Notary Public, EMS Certifying Officer, or other authorized person, you are confirming the accuracy of the information 
entered on the application. 

Your EMS certification records may be kept in electronic, paper, and microfilm formats.  You have a right to request a copy of 
your records at any time.  Any individual has the right to inspect and copy public records under reasonable rules and 
during regular office hours.  All requests must be made in writing.  Information which is non-disclosable will not be made 
available. 

The Department may charge a fee for searching and copying its records in accordance with AS 40.25.110 and 6 AAC 96.130. 

It is the responsibility of the applicant to keep the Department informed of his or her current mailing address.  The Department 
will send correspondence, including applications for recertification, to the address on file. 

If an individual believes information contained in his or her certification records is incorrect, the individual should notify 
the Section, in writing, of the perceived error.  The address of the EMS Unit is: 

Department Of Health & Social Services 
Division of Public Health

Section of Emergency Programs
 P.O. Box 110616, Juneau, AK 99811-0616 

Phone: (907) 465-8741
http://www.ems.alaska.gov

More information about public records in Alaska can be obtained by reviewing AS 40.25.110 – 40.25.220 and 6 AAC 96.010 – 6 
AAC 96.900. 
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Use of Social Security Numbers in Certification of EMS Personnel Under AS 18.08 

Introduction and Overview:  The Privacy Act of 1974, as amended, 5 U.S.C. § 552a (1994) prohibits a federal, state or local 
government from denying an individual any right, benefit or privilege provided by law because of the individual’s refusal to disclose 
his Social Security numbers (SSN).  This section does not apply to any disclosure which is required by federal statute.  The law 
further requires agencies collecting Social Security numbers to provide information about how the information will be 
used.  This document provides information about the collection and use of Social Security numbers by the Section of 
Emergency Programs of the Alaska Department of Health and Social Services for the purposes of certifying individuals 
under Alaska Statute 18.08.010 —18.08.090. 

Under What Authority Does The Section of Emergency Programs Collect SSNs?   Federal and state laws regarding child 
support enforcement and federal debt collection require state agencies to deny licenses to those who are significantly 
delinquent in paying their child support or student loan obligations.  (See Personal Responsibility and Work Opportunity 
Reconciliation Act of 1996 - 42 USC 666(a)(13); Debt Collection Improvement Act of 1996 - 31 USC 7701(c) for more 
information). 
Child Support.  AS 25.27.244 (a) (Adverse Action Against Delinquent Obligor's Occupational License), requires the Child 
Support Enforcement Agency to provide a list of delinquent obligors to Section of Emergency Programs each month and the 
Section of Emergency Programs must take action to withhold the occupational license of each identified delinquent obligor.  
The definition of “license" includes authorization under AS 18.08 to perform emergency medical services.  AS 
25.27.244(s)(2)(A)(iv). 
Under AS 18.08.082, the Department certifies Emergency Medical Technicians, Defibrillator Technicians, Emergency 
Medical Technician Instructors, Emergency Trauma Technician Instructors, Mobile Intensive Care Paramedic Course Coordinators 
and Emergency Medical Dispatchers.  AS 18.05.030 compels the Department to cooperate with the federal government and 
provide information it requires.   
Student Loans.  AS 14.43.148(a) (Nonrenewal of License) allows the nonrenewal of occupational license for a person who is in 
default on a loan made by the Commission on Postsecondary Education. AS 14.43.148 (h)(1)(A) (iv) defines "license" to include 
authorization under AS 18.08 to perform emergency medical services. 

How the SSN is Used?  To comply with federal and state laws, we use our certification data to confirm if licensees are in default of 
their child support and postsecondary education loans, based on the lists of defaulted obligors which are provided to the 
Section of Emergency Programs. The Section of Emergency Programs may provide limited certification data to the other agencies to 
clarify an ambiguous entry on the lists.  In addition, the SSN is used within the EMS Test Correction system to match test 
scores electronically with certification records.  SSNs are not used for other purposes and are not displayed on certification 
materials. Adverse actions against health care providers, e.g. revocation of certification, are required to be reported to 
the federal government.  The provider’s SSN will be reported as part of this required report. 

Is Providing Your SSN Mandatory?  Yes, for the reasons cited above, we are required to collect SSNs.  Applications on which the 
SSN is not provided will be considered incomplete.  The application will not be processed and no certificate will be issued until the 
SSN is provided.  It should be noted that Social Security numbers can be assigned, by the Social Security Administration, to foreign 
workers who are authorized to work in the United States. 

Summary:  In order to become certified to provide Emergency Medical Services under AS 18.08, a person must disclose 
their Social Security number.  The Section of Emergency Programs uses the number for purposes required by statute and 
internally to match test scores with certification records.  SSNs are not disclosed except as required by law and efforts are made to 
maintain the security and privacy of personal information.   

http://www.touchngo.com/lglcntr/akstats/Statutes/Title18/Chapter08.htm
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