Skip to content

Emergency Medical Service Awards

EMS Administrator Award

A person who successfully develops a new approach, technique or device to improve EMS in Alaska, and/or for an outstanding administrator in an EMS agency or service.


Skip Richards, EMT


Jonathan Thomas, EMT-3


Tom Dean, EMT-3


David Rockney, MICP, Fairbanks — In recognition of his EMS advocacy and leadership as training coordinator for the Interior Region EMS Council and as assistant chief of the Steese Volunteer Fire Department.


Dr. Ray Andreassen, Delta Junction — In recognition of his outstanding leadership and guidance for over 20 years in working with Delta Junction EMS to ensure that quality patient care is available to the people of Delta and the surrounding area.


Charles Lean — In recognition of his lifelong commitment as a leader, mentor, advisor, administrator and friend to the EMS system in the Norton Sound Region and throughout Alaska.


Valerie DeFrance of Hope, in recognition of her 20 years of service as a provider, administrator and educator, and her dedication to her community, students, and the EMS profession.


Teresa Seybert, Dillingham, Bristol Bay EMS Sub-Regional Coordinator


George Keeney, Valdez Fire Chief


Martha Moore, Juneau - Program Manager, State Injury Prevention and Surveillance Program


Ronni Sullivan, Anchorage - Executive Director, Southern Region EMS Council


Sue Hecks, Seldovia - EMS Coordinator, Kenai Penninsula EMS Council


Aggie Lie, Kotzebue - EMS Director, Maniilaq Assn. EMS


Bobbi Leichty, Sitka -Executive Director Southeast Region EMS Council, in recognition of her outstanding leadership and achievements in developing, administering, and coordinating the EMS system in Southeast Alaska


Janette McArthur, Dillingham -EMS Coordinator, Bristol Bay Area Health Corp., Dillingham


Darlene Guzman, EMT-I, Dispatch Coordinator and Administrative Assistant, Ketchikan Fire Dept., in recognition of her development of a dispatch course oriented towards rural Alaska


Matt Anderson, Juneau - Manager, State EMS unit, in recognition of his outstanding innovations and achievements in developing and coordinating an EMS training and certification program in the State of Alaska


Mark Johnson, Juneau - Section Chief, State Community Health and EMS Unit, in recognition of years devoted to the administration of an outstanding EMS system in Alaska at the local, regional and state levels and for his successful EMS efforts as part of national and international organizations


Craig Lewis, Fairbanks - for his administration of Interior Region EMS Council


Thomas Scott, formerly of Anchorage - for his administration of Southern Region EMS Council, his work on the regional and state levels, and for helping to bring CISD teams to Alaska


Doug Cronlund, Petersburg


Aggie Lie, EMT-III, Kotzebue - for her administrative and training achievements as EMS Director for Maniilaq Association/NANA Region


Norm Miller, MICP, Florida - former Battalion Chief of EMS Training for the Anchorage Fire Department, past ACEMS Chair and long-time member, work in CISD


Larry Langston, MICP, EMS Coordinator, Anchorage Fire Dept. and Ann Gabler, MICP - for their coordination with Allied Health Sciences to develop and begin an A.A.S. degree in paramedical training at the Anchorage Community College


Jeannie Ostnes Rinear, Fairbanks - former Director of Interior Region EMS Council, EMS administrator for 9 years & paramedic courses


Steve LaFevers, Fairbanks - a pioneer in EMT training, EMT-II development for rural areas, and textbook development

Michael Senta, M.D., Mat-Su EMS Medical Director, Palmer - for leadership in developing outstanding borough-wide EMS system and exemplary role as EMS medical director


Tim Samuelson, M.D., Anchorage - developed standards and guidelines for a comprehensive EMS system; State EMS Medical Director


Don Leatherman, recently retired federal official - for his work as an EMS consultant for Region X, representing Alaska, Washington, Idaho, and Oregon with federal EMS program since 1974


Fran McAfee, EMS Coordinator, Yukon Kuskokwim Health Corp. - for educational programs uniquely appropriate to western Alaska and for her role in developing EMS for bush Alaska


Roy Davie, Willow - retired communications engineer who assured reliable communications between isolated communities and medical resources


Bill and Nancy Savage - developed Arctic First Aid Filmstrip series about First Aid in Bush Alaska