Skip to content

Emergency Medical Service Awards

Longenbaugh Memorial Award

Dr. George Longenbaugh was a pioneer in Alaska EMS. This award honors a physician who exemplifies leadership and dedication to EMS systems and, through his or her efforts, has significantly promoted the Alaska EMS system.


Michael Levy, MD


Lawrance Reynolds, MD


Dave McCandless, MD


Leslie Wood, M.D., Sitka
— In recognition of her tireless advocacy for the EMS community and all first responders.


Regina Chennault, MD, Anchorage — In recognition of her leadership, passion, and advocacy in improving trauma care for all Alaskans.


Dr. Michael Levy — In recognition of 20 years of service as a staunch supporter of pre-hospital and emergency medicine, and his dedication to public service ethics and the people of Alaska.


Karen O’Neill, M.D. of Nome — in recognition of 33 years of leadership and dedicated service to the Norton Sound Region and to the people of the State of Alaska.


Jennifer Dow, M.D., of Girdwood, for her tireless efforts in enhancing outdoor emergency medicine in Alaska.


Dr. William Anthes - Ketchikan, in recognition of his 23 years of support to the Ketchikan Fire Department as Physician Medical Director.


Barbara Jean Coopes, MD - Anchorage, in recognition of her leadership of Pediatric Transport team of LifeGuard Alaska, her excellent clinical skills, and her dedication to EMS and rural health care providers.


Mike Levy, MD - Anchorage, for his 15 years of leadership and advocacy of the EMS system in Alaska.


Ken Brown, MD - Juneau, in recognition of his involvement, leadership, and dedication to EMS in Southeast Alaska as medical director for Capital City Fire/Rescue as well as to the State as a member of the Alaska Council on EMS.


Don Hudson, DO - Anchorage, in recognition of his service to Unalaska EMS and the local clinic for more than 10 years, & for his dedication, leadership & friendship to the providers.


William Bell, MD - Homer, in recognition of 18 years of service as a medical director.


Frank Sacco, MD, Alaska Native Medical Center – Anchorage, in recognition of his commitment to, promotion of, and outstanding leadership in the Alaska Trauma Care System.


William L. Cooper, MD - Kasilof, in recognition of his outstanding quality of medical direction and increasing number of services he directs.


Ernest Meloche, MD – Ketchikan, for years of service in Southeast Alaska and Alaska Marine Highway System.


Leanne Converse, MD - Chena Goldstream Fire & Rescue – Fairbanks, in recognition of years of commitment/leadership in Interior Region.


Leo K. Morresey, MD - TransAlaska Pipeline – Anchorage, for years of commitment to Alaska's EMS system.


Thomas H. Wood, MD – Petersburg, for encouraging and providing EMS to Petersburg and SE Alaska, through his practice, physician sponsorship, and as EMS Medical Director for SE Region EMS Council.


John Hall, MD, FACEP - Anchorage


Michael Copass, MD – Seattle, for his medevac work in Southeast Alaska, Harborview and Airlift Northwest in Seattle & training for all of Alaska.


William Bell, MD – Homer, for his services as physician sponsor for Homer Volunteer Fire Department.


George McAnelly, MD - Anchor Point, for his services as physician sponsor for Anchor Point Vol. Fire & Rescue.


Harriett Jackson Schirmer, MD – Wrangell, for serving as EMS physician sponsor of Wrangell Vol. Fire Dept.


David Templin, MD – Anchorage, for his long-time service as Alaska Native Medical Center/IHS EMS Coordinator for Alaska, surgeon & statewide work to improve EMS systems.


William Wennen, MD – Fairbanks, long-time ACEMS member & ACEMS Chair, physician sponsor of University of Alaska Fairbanks Fire Dept., & for his workshops & lectures on burns & other EMS topics throughout the state.