Skip to content


Alaska has had continuous funding since its first award in 1989 and has made significant accomplishments that include:

  • 2017
    Fairbanks Memorial Hospital was recognized as a General Pediatric Emergency Care Facility in November.
  • 2016
    Providence Alaska Medical Center was recognized as a Comprehensive Pediatric Emergency Care Facility on August 26.
  • 2015
    First Recognized Comprehensive Pediatric  Emergency Care Facility accomplished at Alaska Native Medical Center October 6th.
  • 2014
    Emergency Medical Technician's required to complete 2 hours of pediatric education every 2 years for recertification.
  • 2012
    Awarded the EMSC State Partnership Regionalization of Care (SPROC) Grant to help regionalize pediatric care in rural, frontier and wilderness Alaskan communities.
  • 2008
    The Alaska EMSC Advisory Committee became a special subcommittee of the Governor’s Alaska Council on EMS (ACEMS).
  • 2008
    Statutes and regulations were revised to require 6 hours of pediatric continuing medical education for paramedic recertification.
  • 2006
    Developed and distributed the 2006 Alaska Medevac Manual (4th Ed.) to include pediatric chapters.
  • 2003
    Contributed to the National Association of EMS Physicians (NAEMSP), “Model Pediatric Protocols: 2003 Revision.”
  • 2000
    Awarded the EMSC National Heroes Award for State Achievement. Alaska developed its widely-respected “Gatekeeper” suicide prevention program, which was designed in collaboration with Hawaii’s EMSC Project to reduce the incidence of youth suicide among Alaskans, Native Americans, and Hawaiians. The Federal EMSC Program recognized Alaska’s success a result of its strong partnerships and collaborations with government, education, medical, and private partners.
  • 2000
    Became the first state to present the new pediatric training course, Pediatric Education for Prehospital Professionals (PEPP), after the national rollout in March.