
 
Parent/Guardian Guide to  

State-supplied Vaccine and Vaccine Administration Fees  
Children 0 through 18 Years of Age  

 
Medical providers are not permitted to charge for the cost of vaccines they receive through the Alaska Immunization Program (a.k.a. state-supplied), however, they may bill for administration and/or 
visit fees and vaccine they privately purchase.  Click here for a list of providers who receive state-supplied vaccines.    
 
The information below describes the billing practices providers receiving vaccine through this program must follow.  If a child meets more than one eligibility status listed below, discuss with your 
provider which is most cost-effective for you.   

 

Eligibility  
Birth through 18 years 

 
 

Definitions 

 
Vaccine Administration Fee 

Bill To 
Vaccine Administration 

Fee Cap 

 
State-supplied  
Vaccine Fee: 

NONE 

Medicaid Eligible • A child who is either eligible for or enrolled in Medicaid 
• A child who is insured and Medicaid enrolled 

Medicaid Determined by 
Medicaid 

Providers must not charge 
for the cost of state-
supplied vaccines. 
 
Ask your provider if they 
are administering state-
supplied or privately 
purchased vaccine. 
 
They may bill for privately 
purchased vaccine and the 
administration fee 
information on this chart 
may not apply.    
 
 

Uninsured • A child who has no health insurance Parent/guardian/individual of 
record† 

$27.44 (Per Dose) 

American Indian/Alaska Native 
(AI/AN) 
 

• For the purposes of the VFC program, AI/AN is defined by 
the Indian Health Care Improvement Act [25 U.S.C. 1603] 
 

Parent/guardian/individual of 
record† 

$27.44 (Per Dose) unless 
paid by Medicaid 

Underinsured  

 

• A child who has health insurance, but the coverage 
does not include vaccines; OR 

• A child whose insurance does not cover all ACIP- 
recommended vaccines. The child would be eligible to 
receive those vaccines not covered by the insurance; 
OR 

• A child whose insurance caps the cost for vaccine 
coverage is eligible to receive VFC vaccines only after 
the insurance cap has been reached 

Parent/guardian/individual of 
record† 

$27.44 (Per Dose) 

Insured  • Children who have insurance and for whom state-
supplied vaccine is used 

Insurance  Determined by insurance  
 

†Patients cannot be denied vaccines or reported to collections because the parent/guardian/individual of record is not able to pay the administration fee.   
 
 

Alaska Immunization Helpline Contact 
Anchorage:   907-269-8088 | Toll Free:   888-430-4321 |  Email:  immune@alaska.gov 
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http://dhss.alaska.gov/dph/Epi/iz/Documents/ssv/StateSuppliedVaccineProviders.pdf
http://dhss.alaska.gov/dph/Epi/iz/Pages/vcf.aspx
https://www.ssa.gov/OP_Home/comp2/F094-437.html
mailto:immune@alaska.gov

