Skip to content

Informed Alaskans

Alaska BRFSS Health Profiles Geography: Metropolitan/Micropolitan Statistical Areas

Alaska Metropolitan/Micropolitan Statistical Areas [HTML5]

Alaska Metropolitan/Micropolitan Statistical Areas [Flash]

There are two metropolitan statistical areas (MSA) and three micropolitan statistical areas (μSAs) in Alaska. The Anchorage metropolitan statistical area is composed of the Municipality of Anchorage and the Matanuska-Susitna Borough. The Anchorage MSA is reported by its constituent parts. For data based upon the combined Anchorage MSA, see the Anchorage and Mat-Su region in the Alaska Public Health Regions. The Fairbanks MSA and the three μSAs are each composed of single boroughs. The boroughs and census areas outside of the metropolitan and micropolitan statistical areas are considered rural. The BRFSS health profiles are reported according to the seven areas.

Alaska Metropolitan/Micropolitan Statistical Areas
Boroughs/Census Areas

  • Anchorage, Alaska Metropolitan Statistical Area - MOA
    • Municipality of Anchorage

  • Anchor
  • age, Alaska Metropolitan Statistical Area - Mat-Su
    • Matanuska-Susitna Borough

  • Fairbanks, Alaska Metropolitan Statistical Area
    • Fairbanks North Star Borough

  • Juneau, Alaska Micropolitan Statistical Area
    • Juneau City and Borough

  • Kodiak, Alaska Micropolitan Statistical Area
    • Kodiak Island Borough

  • Ketchikan, Alaska Micropolitan Statistical Area
    • Ketchikan Gateway Borough

  • Rural (Non-statistical areas)
    • Aleutians East Borough
    • Aleutians West Census Area
    • Bethel Census Area
    • Bristol Bay Borough
    • Denali Borough
    • Dillingham Census Area
    • Haines Borough
    • Hoonah-Angoon Census Area
    • Kenai Peninsula Borough
    • Lake and Peninsula Borough
    • Nome Census Area
    • North Slope Borough
    • Northwest Arctic Borough
    • Petersburg Census Area
    • Prince of Wales-Hyder Census Area
    • Sitka City and Borough
    • Skagway Municipality
    • Southeast Fairbanks Census Area
    • Valdez-Cordova Census Area
    • Wade Hampton Census Area
    • Wrangell City and Borough
    • Yakutat City and Borough
    • Yukon-Koyukuk Census Area