
Department of 
Health and Social Services 

DIVISION OF PUBLIC HEALTH 

Health Analytics and Vital Records

P.O. Box 110675 

Juneau, Alaska 

99811-0675 Main: 

907.465.5423
Fax: 907.465.3423

Dear Applicant: 

Per Alaska Statute 17.37.010 regarding the medical uses of marijuana, the enclosed “Application for Registry 
Identification Card for Medical Use of Marijuana” and “Physician Statement” must be completed by the 
applicant. Further, if a primary or primary alternate caregiver is specified, the form “Caregiver Application for 
Medical Use of Marijuana Applicant” must also be completed.  

A nonrefundable fee (7 AAC 34.080(a)) of $25.00 ($20.00 for a renewal) and a legible photocopy of the Alaska 
State Driver’s License or Identification Card of the patient and all caregivers must be submitted with the 
application. Renewal applications submitted after a registry identification card has expired will be considered a 
new application and the applicant will be required to pay the fee for first-time applicants. 

Prior to mailing your application, review it to be sure that all required information has been completed. If your 
application is not complete, it will be denied and you will not be allowed to reapply for a period of six months. 
Please make your check or money order payable to the Bureau of Vital Statistics and mail it along with the 
application to the following address: 

Health Analytics and Vital Records
 Marijuana Registry 

P.O. Box 110699 
Juneau, AK 99811-0699 

You may wish to use “Return Receipt Service” for mailing to be sure that your application and fees are received 
by the Bureau. 

Lastly, enclosed is a page for your reference that provides the statutory requirements regarding the application 
for a marijuana registry card.  If you have any questions or concerns, please contact the marijuana registry 
section of the Bureau of Vital Statistics at (907) 465-5423. 



Medical Marijuana Registry Application Instructions 

Please read the following instructions carefully.  If your application is not complete, it may be denied. 

A patient applying for a medical marijuana registry identification card must provide to the department: 

1. The original completed copy of the attached application form (photocopies will not be accepted)
that includes the following:

 The applicant's name, mailing address, physical address, date of birth, and Alaska driver’s
license number or Alaska identification card number;

 The name, address, and telephone number of the patient's physician;

 The name and address of the patient's primary caregiver, if one is designated at the time of
application; and

 The applicant's signature.

2. If the applicant is a minor, an original statement in writing (photocopies will not be accepted) by
the minor's parent or legal guardian residing in Alaska, stating that the parent or guardian:

 Consents to serve as the minor's primary caregiver; and

 Gives the parent or guardian's permission for the minor to engage in the medical use of
marijuana;

3. The original, signed form of the physician’s statement (photocopies of the physician’s
statement will not be accepted) stating that the patient has been diagnosed with a qualifying
debilitating medical condition and the conclusion of the patient's physician that the patient might
benefit from the medical use of marijuana or a certified copy of that documentation; and

4. The application fee of $25 for the original request or $20 fee if it is for a timely renewal (your
current card has not expired).



Application for Medical Marijuana Registry 

 The application fee is $25 for initial application; or $20 for a renewal application (current card has not expired).
 A photocopy of the Applicant’s Alaska Driver’s License or Alaska Identification Card must be included with the application.
 A witness must be present when the Applicant signs and dates the application.  The witness must then sign and date the application.
 A statement from the Applicant’s physician, using either the physician’s statement form (page 4) or a letter addressing the conditions

mentioned in the physician’s statement form, signed by the Applicant’s physician must be attached.

 Name:  
(First  Middle  Last) 

Mailing Address: 

Physical Address: 

City, State, Zip: 
Phone: 

Date of Birth (mm/dd/yyyy) AK Driver’s License/AK ID Number: 

If the Applicant is a minor (under the age of 18), please fill out this section: 

I,  , state that I am the parent or guardian of 
(Name of parent or guardian) (Minor applicant’s name) 

and that the minor’s physician has explained the possible risks and benefits of medical use of marijuana to me and that I consent to 
serve as the primary caregiver for the patient and to control the acquisition, possession, dosage, and frequency of use of marijuana by 
the minor. 

Parent or Guardian Signature:    Date:  

Note: The parent or guardian must also register as the applicant’s primary caregiver (page 2). 

Physician’s Information: 
 Name:  

(First  Middle  Last) 

Mailing Address: 

Physical Address: 

City, State, Zip: 
Phone: 

Applicant’s Signature: 
Date: 

Witness’ Printed Name: 

Witness’ Signature: 
Date: 

State Office use only: 
Patient #: Caregiver #: Issue Date: Expiration Date: 

Mail to: 
Health Analytics and Vital Records
Medical Marijuana Registry
PO Box 110699
Juneau, AK  99811-0699
PH:  907-465-5423 

 Initial Application
 Renewal



Primary Caregiver Application for  
Medical Use of Marijuana Registry Applicant 

 A photocopy of the Primary Caregiver’s Alaska Driver’s License or Alaska Identification Card must be included with the
application.

 A witness must be present when the Primary Caregiver signs and dates the application.  The witness must then sign and
date the application.

 Name:  
(First  Middle  Last) 

Mailing Address: 

Physical Address: 

City, State, Zip: 
Phone: 

Date of Birth (mm/dd/yyyy) AK Driver’s License/AK ID Number: 

Check all that apply. 

 I am at least 21 years of age;

 I have never been convicted of a felony offense under AS 11.71 or AS 11.73 or a law or ordinance of
another jurisdiction with elements similar to an offense under AS 11.71 or AS 11.73;

 I am not currently on probation or parole from this or another jurisdiction.

I certify under penalty of perjury that the foregoing is true. 

Primary Caregiver’s 
Signature: 

Date: 

Witness’ Printed Name: 

Witness’ Signature: 
Date: 



Alternate Caregiver Application for  
Medical Use of Marijuana Registry Applicant 

 A photocopy of the Alternate Caregiver’s Alaska Driver’s License or Alaska Identification Card must be included with the
application.

 A witness must be present when the Alternate Caregiver signs and dates the application.  The witness must then sign and
date the application.

 Name:  
(First  Middle  Last) 

Mailing Address: 

Physical Address: 

City, State, Zip: 
Phone: 

Date of Birth (mm/dd/yyyy) AK Driver’s License/AK ID Number: 

Check all that apply. 

 I am at least 21 years of age;

 I have never been convicted of a felony offense under AS 11.71 or AS 11.73 or a law or ordinance of
another jurisdiction with elements similar to an offense under AS 11.71 or AS 11.73;

 I am not currently on probation or parole from this or another jurisdiction.

I certify under penalty of perjury that the foregoing is true. 

Alternate Caregiver’s 
Signature: 

Date: 

Witness’ Printed Name: 

Witness’ Signature: 
Date: 



Physician Statement for Medical 
Use of Marijuana Registry Applicant 

I, , state that I personally examined 
(Physician’s Name) (Applicant’s Name) 

on  and that the examination took place in the context of a bona fide physician-patient relationship; 
 (Date of examination) 

and that   has a debilitating medical condition qualifying under AS 17.37.070.  
(Applicant’s Name) 

I have considered other approved medications and treatments that might provide relief, that are reasonably available to the 
patient, and that can be tolerated by the patient, and have concluded that the patient might benefit from the medical use of 
marijuana. 

Physician’s Signature:         Date: 

Physician’s License Number: __________________________ 

The physician must either be licensed to practice medicine in the state of Alaska or must be an officer in the regular medical 
service of the armed forces of the United States or the United States Public Health Service while in the discharge of their 
official duties, or while volunteering services without pay or other remuneration to a hospital, clinic, medical office, or other 
medical facility in Alaska. 



Statutory Citations for Medical Marijuana Registry Application 

Applicant: 

AS 17.37.010(c)  In order to be placed on the state's confidential registry for the medical use of marijuana, an 
adult patient or a parent or guardian of a minor patient shall provide to the department 

(1) a statement signed by the patient's physician
(A) stating that the physician personally examined the patient and that the    examination took place in

the context of a bona fide physician-patient relationship and setting out the date the examination
occurred;

(B) stating that the patient has been diagnosed with a debilitating medical condition; and
(C) stating that the physician has considered other approved medications and treatments that might

provide relief, that are reasonably available to the patient, and that can be tolerated by the patient,
and that the physician has concluded that the patient might benefit from the medical use of
marijuana;

(2) a sworn application on a form provided by the department containing the following information:
(A) the name, address, date of birth, and Alaska driver's license or identification card number of the

patient;
(B) the name, address, and telephone number of the patient's physician; and
(C) the name, address, date of birth, and Alaska driver's license or identification card number of the

patient's primary caregiver and alternate caregiver if either is designated at the time of
application, along with the statements required under (d) of this section; and

(3) if the patient is a minor, a statement by the minor's parent or guardian that the patient's physician has
explained the possible risks and benefits of medical use of marijuana and that the parent or guardian
consents to serve as the primary caregiver for the patient and to control the acquisition, possession,
dosage, and frequency of use of marijuana by the patient.

Caregiver: 

AS 17.37.010(c)  In order to be placed on the state's confidential registry for the medical use of marijuana, an 
adult patient or a parent or guardian of a minor patient shall provide to the department 

(2) a sworn application on a form provided by the department containing the following information:
(C) the name, address, date of birth, and Alaska driver's license or identification card number of the

patient's primary caregiver and alternate caregiver if either is designated at the time of
application, along with the statements required under (d) of this section; and



AS 17.37.010(d) A person may be listed as the primary caregiver or alternate caregiver for a patient if the person 
submits a sworn statement on a form provided by the department that the person 

(1) is at least 21 years of age;
(2) has never been convicted of a felony offense under AS 11.71 or AS 11.73 or a law or ordinance of

another jurisdiction with elements similar to an offense under AS 11.71 or AS 11.73; and
(3) is not currently on probation or parole from this or another jurisdiction.

AS 17.37.010(e) A person may be a primary caregiver or alternate caregiver for only one patient at a time unless 
the primary caregiver or alternate caregiver is simultaneously caring for two or more patients who are related to 
the caregiver by at least the fourth degree of kinship by blood or marriage. 

AS 17.37.010(q) A primary caregiver may only act as the primary caregiver for the patient when the primary 
caregiver is in physical possession of the caregiver registry identification card. An alternate caregiver may only act 
as the primary caregiver for the patient when the alternate caregiver is in physical possession of the caregiver 
registry identification card. 

Physician Information: 

AS 17.37.010(c)  In order to be placed on the state's confidential registry for the medical use of marijuana, an 
adult patient or a parent or guardian of a minor patient shall provide to the department 

(1) a statement signed by the patient's physician
(A) stating that the physician personally examined the patient and that the    examination took place

in the context of a bona fide physician-patient relationship and setting out the date the
examination occurred;

(B) stating that the patient has been diagnosed with a debilitating medical condition; and
(C) stating that the physician has considered other approved medications and treatments that might

provide relief, that are reasonably available to the patient, and that can be tolerated by the
patient, and that the physician has concluded that the patient might benefit from the medical use
of marijuana;

(2) a sworn application on a form provided by the department containing the following information:
(B) the name, address, and telephone number of the patient's physician.

AS 17.37.010(r) The department may not register a patient under this section unless the statement of the 
patient's physician discloses that the patient was personally examined by the physician within the 16-month 
period immediately preceding the patient's application. The department shall cancel, suspend, revoke, or not 
renew the registration of a patient whose annual resubmission of updated written documentation to the 
department under (k) of this section does not disclose that the patient was personally examined by the patient's 
physician within the 16-month period immediately preceding the date by which the patient is required to 
annually resubmit written documentation. 



Debilitating Medical Condition: 

AS17.37.070(4) “debilitating medical condition” means 
(A) cancer, glaucoma, positive status for human immunodeficiency virus, or acquired immune

deficiency syndrome, or treatment for any of these conditions;
(B) any chronic or debilitating disease or treatment for such diseases, which produces, for a specific

patient, one or more of the following, and for which, in the professional opinion of the patient’s
physician, such condition or conditions reasonably may be alleviated by the medical use of the
marijuana: cachexia;  severe pain; severe nausea; seizures, including those that are characteristic
of epilepsy; or persistent muscle spasms, including those that are characteristic or multiple
sclerosis; or

(C) any other medical condition, or treatment for such condition, approved by the department, under
regulations adopted under AS17.37.060 or approval of a petition submitted under AS17.37.060.

Other: 

AS 17.37.010(i) A person may not apply for a registry identification card more than once every six months. 

AS 17.37.010(k) When there has been a change in the name, address, or physician of a patient who has qualified 
for a registry identification card, or a change in the name or address of the patient's primary caregiver or 
alternate caregiver, that patient must notify the department of the change within 10 days. To maintain an 
effective registry identification card, a patient must annually resubmit updated written documentation, including 
a statement signed by the patient's physician containing the information required to be submitted under (c)(1) of 
this section, to the department, as well as the name and address of the patient's primary caregiver or alternate 
caregiver, if any. 

AS 17.37.010(l) A patient who no longer has a debilitating medical condition and the patient's primary caregiver, 
if any, shall return all registry identification cards to the department within 24 hours of receiving the diagnosis by 
the patient's physician. 

AS 17.37.010(m) A copy of a registry identification card is not valid. A registry identification card is not valid if the 
card has been altered, mutilated in a way that impairs its legibility, or laminated. 

AS 17.37.010(n) The department may revoke a patient's registration if the department determines that the 
patient has violated a provision of this chapter or AS 11.71. 




