
Information for Medicare Beneficiaries in Alaska Under 65 
Medigap (Medicare Supplement Insurance) for People with a Disability or ESRD 

You may have Medicare before 65 due to a disability or ESRD (permanent kidney failure requiring dialysis 
or a kidney transplant).  
If you are a person with Medicare under 65 years old and have a disability or ESRD, you might not be able 
to buy the Medigap policy you want, or any Medigap policy, until you turn 65. Federal law doesn’t 
require insurance companies to sell Medigap policies to people under 65. However, some states 
require Medigap insurance companies to sell you a Medigap policy, even if you are under 65.  

The following states require insurance companies to offer at least one kind of Medigap policy to people 
with Medicare under 65:  

• California*
• Colorado
• Connecticut
• Delaware**
• Florida
• Georgia
• Hawaii
• Illinois
• Kansas
• Louisiana

• Maine
• Maryland
• Massachusetts*
• Michigan
• Minnesota
• Mississippi
• Missouri
• New Hampshire
• New Jersey
• New York

• North Carolina
• Oklahoma
• Oregon
• Pennsylvania
• South Dakota
• Tennessee
• Texas
• Vermont*
• Wisconsin

* A Medigap policy isn’t available to people with ESRD under 65. **A Medigap policy is only available to people with ESRD

  Alaska does not have a law that requires insurance companies to sell Medigap 
(Medicare Supplement) plans to people who are on Medicare and younger than 65.

References 
Choosing a Medigap Policy: A Guide to Health Insurance for People with Medicare 
http://www.medicare.gov/Publications/Pubs/pdf/02110.pdf 

Alaska Statute AS Sec. 21.96.060. Medicare supplemental insurance 
The director shall adopt regulations necessary to comply with the requirements of 42 U.S.C. 1395ss, and any 
amendments to that section or federal regulations pertaining to that section, so that the state may retain 
full authority to set certain standards for Medicare supplemental insurance.   
http://www.legis.state.ak.us/basis/statutes.asp?title=21#21.96.060 

An alternative is health insurance through ACHIA, the Alaska Comprehensive Health Insurance 
Association.  You can find information about this at or by calling   
1-888-290-0616.  ACHIA’s Medicare Supplement Plan F premium is approximately $400 as of 7/27/12. 
https://www.achia.com/Default.asp

Helpline: (907) 269-3680 or 1-800-478-6065 
www.medicare.alaska.gov 
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