Skip to content

Quality Assurance Unit

In the Division of Senior and Disabilities Services (DSDS), the Quality Assurance Unit works to ensure the health and welfare of recipients through the monitoring and oversight of services to participants and their families. Unit staff conduct case record reviews, oversee critical incident reporting, review mortalities, conduct complaint investigations and monitor and report on data.

The Quality Assurance Unit strives to provide technical assistance as needed, deliver excellent customer service, and to collaborate with stakeholders and other DHSS agencies to meet our Division’s mission of promoting health, well-being and safety for individuals by facilitating access to quality services.

The Quality Assurance Unit is responsible for the following activities:

  • Case Record Review of Medicaid Waiver Participants
  • Critical Incident Report Review, Investigations, Remediation and Reporting
  • Mortality Review, Investigations, and Reporting
  • Investigation of  participant related complaints and noncompliance
  • Critical Incident Report (CIR) Investigation as related to system compliance
  • Quality Monitoring Reporting for system improvement activities

 

Quality Assurance Unit Staff Contacts

    Caroline Hogan – Unit Manager, Health Program Manager III
    Caroline.Hogan@alaska.gov, 269-3673
    Manages and oversees all functions of the Quality Assurance unit.

Screening and Investigations

    Meg Sampson – Health Program Manager II
    Meg.Sampson@alaska.gov, 269-3969
    Supervises QA investigators, incident screeners, mortality reviews and provides technical assistance.

    Anna Lewald – Health Program Manager II,
    Anna.Lewald@alaska.gov, 334-0889
    Complaint investigations, technical assistance and quality monitoring reporting

    Jackie Christensen – Health Program Manager II,
    Jacquelyn.christensen@alaska.gov, 269-4742
    Complaint investigations, technical assistance, and quality monitoring reporting.

    Karen Engstrom – Health Program Manager II
    Karen.Engstrom@alaska.gov, 269-3658
    Complaint investigations, technical assistance and quality monitoring reporting.

    Christina Kent– Health Program Manager II
    Christina.Kent@alaska.gov, 754-3547
    Complaint investigations, technical assistance and quality monitoring reporting.

    Vacant – Heath Program Manager II
    Complaint investigations, technical assistance and quality monitoring reporting.

    Vacant – Health Program Manager I
    Mortality Reviews, Incident report screening, investigations related to incident reports and technical assistance.

    Vacant – Health Program Manager I
    Incident report screenings and technical assistance.

Service Authorization

    Bonnie Olsen-Lee – Health Program Manager II
    Bonnie.Olsen-Lee@alaska.gov, 269-4134
    Supervises Service Authorization staff, technical assistance, utilization reviews and reporting

    Carrie Crouse – Health Program Associate
    Carrie.Crouse@alaska.gov, 269-3048
    Service authorizations, utilization review and technical assistance.

    Ladda Frazier – Health Program Associate
    Ladda.Frazier@alaska.gov, 269-3651
    Service authorizations, utilization review and technical assistance.

    Lori Gaetzman – Health Program Associate
    Lori.Gaetzman@alaska.gov, 269-3451
    Service authorizations, utilization review and technical assistance.

    Shanda Luce – Medical Assistance Administrator I
    Shanda.Luce@alaska.gov, 269-4145
    Incident report screening, technical assistance, service authorizations and utilization review.

Fair Hearings, Mediations and Appeals

    Victoria Cobo – Medical Assistance Administrator III
    Victoria.Cobo@alaska.gov, 344-0890
    Fair Hearing representative

    Terri Gagne – Medical Assistance Administrator III
    Terri.Gagne@alaska.gov, 269-0857
    Fair Hearing representative
     

Resources

  • Use the following link to submit certification related emails, requests for PCA training waivers, variance application materials and any certification related questions: DSDSCertification@alaska.gov

  • For information on submitting critical incidents reports, complaints or other related reports,
    follow this link:link to Centralized Reporting main page