Skip to content

2019 Inclusive Practice Award Nominees

The Governor’s Council on Disabilities & Special Education established the Inclusive Practice Award to recognize outstanding educators who work to ensure that students with disabilities have the opportunity for an inclusive education with their peers as part of the general education curriculum. Nominations are made by parents, students and educators and this year included teachers, teams, and a school coffee shop. In the words of Commissioner Michael Johnson, the educators nominated here exemplify Alaska’s educational mission, “An excellent education for EVERY student every day.”

Nominee list for the Inclusive Practice Award 2019

  • Amanda Goodrich, Anchorage School District
  • Leslie Theurer, Dillingham City School District
  • ACT Transitions Coffee Shop, Anchorage School District
  • Heather Godshall, Bering Strait School District
  • Cynthia Detrow, Kenai Peninsula Borough School District
  • Marti Rookala, Unalaska City School District
  • Kaleigh Ryno, Klawock City School District
  • Intensive Needs Team Seward Elementary School: Rebecca Newman, Manette Stanley, Tim Cronin, Gerald Olive; Kenai Peninsula Borough School District
  • Intensive Needs Team Gruenig Middle School: Kristin Brown, Julia Gray, Elaina Martin, Josie Schultz, Vera Johnson; Anchorage School District

Nominee list for the Paraeducator of the Year Award 2019

  • Alicia Kruse, Kenai Peninsula Borough School District
  • Drasida Basargin, Kenai Peninsula Borough School District​
  • Taylor Coney, Kenai Peninsula Borough School District