Skip to content
Governor's Council on Disabilities and Special Education
A woman holding an award
2020 Inclusive Practice Award Winner - Joy Bartko from Wendler Middle School of the Anchorage School District.
A woman holding an award
2020 Paraeducator Winner - Janelle Caspersen from the Annette Island School District
A group photo of individuals holding tulips
2020 Winners - Group photo ofaward winners and one of the nominees with David Kohler, the Chairman of the Education Committee, and Margaret Evans and Heidi Lieb-Williams, Council members

2020 Inclusive Practice Award/Paraeducator of the Year Award

The Governor’s Council on Disabilities & Special Education has established an annual award to be given at the Annual State Special Education Conference each February. For the last 16 years, the Inclusive Practice Award has honored outstanding educators who work to ensure students with disabilities have the opportunity for an inclusive education with their peers as part of the general education curriculum and school community.  Whereas numerous educators deserve recognition for a multitude of reasons, the focus of this award is exclusively on exemplary inclusive practices. An additional award will be given specifically to a special education paraeducator that exemplifies best practices in supporting students in classrooms. 

Nominees for the Inclusive Practice Award should be individuals or teams who are currently educators including (but not limited to) general education teachers, special education teachers, related service providers, administrators or other personnel. Nominees for the Paraeducator of the Year Award should be those working predominantly with students who receive special education services. Award winners are selected based on demonstration of the following criteria:

  • Involving parents as equal partners in their child’s education
  • Promoting inclusive practices that allow students with disabilities to be included within the classroom, with peers and in the school community
  • Modifying curricula or providing support services that enables access to the general curriculum, classroom or school community.

Email to
FAX to: (907) 269-8995
Mail to: Governor’s Council on Disabilities & Special Education
550 W 7th Ave. Suite 1230
Anchorage, Alaska 99501
Main: 907.269.8990
Toll Free: 1.888.269.8990
Fax: 907.269.8995    Questions: Phone (907) 269-8462

Elena Markova
Program Coordinator II

Governor’s Council on Disabilities & Special Education
550 West 7th Ave.  Suite 1230  I  Anchorage, AK 99501
Phone: 907-269-8462  I  Fax: 907-269-8995
Join us on Facebook!

Governor's Council on Disabilities and Special Education
3601 C Street, Suite 740 | Anchorage, AK 99503
Phone: (907) 269-5703 | Toll free: 1(888) 269-8990
Join us on Facebook!

Previous Year's Winners


2019 Winners


2018 Winners


2017 Winners