Skip to content

Autism Workgroup


The Autism Workgroup is an ad hoc of the Governor's Council. The group meets frequently in-person and via teleconference. Members include parents of individuals with disabilities, service providers, self advocates, public community members, and others involved in agencies that provide Autism services to people in Alaska. The Purpose of the workgroup is to develop a shared plan and common set of priorities, foster coordination and communication, and optimize available talent and resources to make positive and lasting improvements tot he Autism continuum of care in Alaska.

What does the Autism Workgroup do?

The workgroup works on priority issues and activities related to improving early screening, diagnosis, and outcomes; increasing access to comprehensive, coordinated care for children and youth with Autism; and addressing the unique issues for adults experiencing Autism. The workgroup members may be involved in conducting:
  • research
  • planning
  • monitoring
  • advocacy

The workgroup strives to support the development of a service delivery system that includes Autism-specific intervention and service delivery to meet the needs of individuals who experience Autism and their families across the lifespan.

Committee Members

Amy Sundheim
Anne Paley
Annette Blanas
Anthony J. Cravalho
Carmen Wenger
Carrie Silvers
Chris Saddler
Danielle Tessen
Denys Collins
Eric Jordan
Heidi Haas
Jimael Johnson
Joni Stumpe
John Barrowman
Kathleen Karimi
Karen Ward
Kim Burnett
Dr Kristi Fuller
Mallory Hamilton
Dr Matt Hirschfeld
Margaret Kossler
Maureen Harwood
Mary Middleton
Meghan Clark
Rachel White
Randall Burns
Rebeka Edge
Rebekah Morisse
Roy Scheller
Sandra Dehart-Mayor
Scott Sidell
Dr Siv Fasci
Terese Kashi
Jill Burkert – Chair
Christie Reinhardt - Staff