Alaska Department of Health & Social Services

Office of Children’s Services

INCIDENT, EMERGENCY, ACCIDENT, ILLNESS, AND CHANGE REPORT
FOSTER HOME / FOSTER GROUP HOME

Name of Provider:

Name of Child:

Date:

Date of Occurrence:

Place of Occurrence

Time:

Witness Name(s) (if applicable):

Address/Phone Numbers (if known)

Immediately Report to OCS:
e Suspected abuse or neglect to
child

Immediately Report to Licensing:

¢ Knowledge that an administrator,
employee, volunteer or household
member has been convicted of or
charged with an offense of a felony
or misdemeanor as described in
AS 47.32.200)

e Death of a child in care

e Serious injury or illness requiring
medical attention by medical
personnel

e Fire or other disaster that affects
the foster home

¢ Any unplanned changes that occur

e An absence of more than 72 hours
of the foster parent, including the
plan for supervision of children in
care by a responsible adult during
that absence

Report to Licensing:

e 14 days notice after any change in
association

e 14 days notice of change in
mailing address

e 20 days notice of plan to relinquish
license

e Other reports (describe below)

30 Days Notice to Licensing

Prior to Change In:

e Name of provider or another
individual residing in the foster
home

e Foster parent status (i.e., marriage,
divorce, etc)

e Age, sex, or number of children
served

e Addition or deletion of a
specialization

e Addition of a household member
for 45 days or longer

¢ Relocation of home

*Immediately Report to Child’s

Placement Worker:

e Death of a child in care

e Attempted or threatened suicide

¢ Life threatening illness or
hospitalization

e Unapproved absence of child more
than 10 hours

e Direct admission of a runaway to a
facility specializing in runaways

*Report to Child’s Placement

Worker by Next Working Day,

Knowledge of:

e Pregnancy of a child in care

e Severe distress or depression

¢ Violation of a condition of probation

o Allegations of criminal conduct of a
child

Brief description of emergency/incident/change:

Describe circumstances leading to emergency/incident:

Describe action:

First aid given? [JYes [1No Bywhom? Medical attention? []Yes [ No
Hospitalized? [1Yes [[1No Name of hospital? By whom?
Name of placing/referral agency Personnel notified: Time/Date:
Name of parent or guardian notified, if applicable: Time/Date:
Name of peace officer notified, if applicable: Time/Date:
Name of physician notified, if applicable: Time/Date:

Physicians statement (regarding injuries, treatment ordered, medications), including copies of medical documents.

Name & Title of Person Reporting:

Date:
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Authority: AS 47.32.200, 7 AAC 50., & 7 AAC 10.925




REPORTING CHILD ABUSE AND NEGLECT IN ALASKA
Report Abuse and Neglect to Office of Children’s Services

Alaska law (AS 47.17) requires foster care providers to report child abuse and neglect. Foster care providers
who, in the performance of their professional duties, have reasonable cause to suspect that a child has
suffered harm as a result of abuse or neglect, must immediately (as soon as reasonably possible - no later
than 24 hours) report that information to the nearest office of the State’s Department of Health and Social
Services, Office of Children’s Services.

If you have a reasonable suspicion, even if you are not sure about the existence of abuse or neglect, you are
obligated to report. It is not your responsibility to determine whether your suspicions are correct or to
investigate those suspicions. It is also not your responsibility to determine if the abuse or neglect occurred in
the child’s home or in the foster home.

If you cannot contact the nearest office of the Office of Children’s Services for any reason, and immediate
action is necessary for the well-being of the child, make your report to a police agency. An officer will then
take immediate action to protect the child and, at the earliest opportunity, will notify the nearest office of the
Office of Children’s Services.

There may be times when you wonder whether something constitutes abuse or neglect, or if your suspicions
are adequate to warrant reporting. Please feel free to contact the Office of Children’s Services office nearest
you.

What is child abuse or neglect?

State law defines child abuse or neglect to include the following actions by those responsible for a child’s
welfare:
e Physical injury that harms or threatens a child’s health or welfare;

e Failure to care for a child, including neglect of the necessary physical (food, shelter, clothing, and medical
attention), emotional, mental and social needs;

e Sexual abuse, including molestation or incest;
e Sexual exploitation, including permitting or encouraging prostitution;

¢ Mental injury -- An injury to the emotional well-being, or intellectual or physiological capacity of a child, as
evidenced by an observable and substantial impairment in the child’s ability to function in a
developmentally appropriate manner; or

¢ Maltreatment -- A child has suffered substantial harm as a result of child abuse or neglect due to an act or
omission not necessarily committed by the child’s parent, custodian or guardian.
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