Alaska's 61st Statehood Anniversary

On January 3, 1959 President Eisenhower officially signed the statehood declaration that made Alaska the 49th state in the Union (nearly 100 years after the state was purchased from Russia). As January 2020 marks the 61st anniversary of Alaska's statehood, here are a few fun January facts in the state's history:

- Mount Wrangell had a volcanic eruption on January 28, 1911.
- The first Alaska Pioneer Home was established in Sitka in 1912!
- The first dog team left Nenana for Nome on January 27, 1925 to deliver serum during the historic diphtheria epidemic.
- The Anchorage Daily News was established on January 13, 1946.
- The first Alaska State Legislature convened in Juneau on January 26, 1959.
- The first Alaska Marine Highway ferry, M/V Malaspina, arrived in Juneau on January 24, 1963 as part of its maiden voyage.



Sitka Pioneer Home – current building established in 1934





