About the EMS Awards

The categories and criteria for the awards are listed below.

  • Consumer/Citizen Award
    Person who, not in the regular line of duty, performs life-saving, limb-saving, or medical techniques in a medical emergency. Shows quick-thinking, common sense, and initiative to save a life or reduce injury.
  • EMS Provider Award
    Medically-trained person who performs meritorious service above and beyond expectations of the job.
  • EMS Administrator Award
    Any person who successfully develops a new approach, technique, device, etc., to improve EMS in Alaska, and/or for an outstanding administrator in an EMS agency or service.
  • Longenbaugh Memorial Award
    Dr. George Longenbaugh was a pioneer in Alaska EMS. This award honors a physician who exemplifies leadership and dedication to EMS systems and, through his or her efforts, has significantly promoted the Alaska EMS system.
  • EMS Educator of the Year
    This award is given to a State certified ETT or EMT Instructor, who is dedicated to quality instruction and promoting the best in prehospital care or has made an outstanding contribution to EMS education.
  • Melissa Ann Peters Memorial Award
    The Melissa Ann Peters Memorial Award is given in memory of a young nurse whose untimely death prompted her family and friends to remember her by honoring other nurses who have contributed in a special way to the encouragement of EMS skills, efforts and education.
  • Outstanding Ambulance Service Award
    The criteria for selection of the Outstanding Ambulance are the following: 1) heroic performance on a special occasion, such as a mass casualty response or 2) outstanding success in providing year-round community service and in gaining support and involvement of the entire community in its service and educational activities. In short, an ambulance service will be chosen that exemplifies in some way the outstanding service that all our ambulance organizations and rescue squads provide to Alaska.
  • Special Awards and Commendations
    Special Awards and Commendations may be awarded by the Alaska Council on EMS in addition to the Governor's Awards in one or more of the following categories for outstanding service: air medical services, injury prevention programs, outstanding employees associated with an EMS organization for longevity and service, and foundations and or service organizations which provide support to EMS activities.
  • EMS Skills Competition
    The All-Alaska EMT Skills Competition is staged every year at the Annual EMS Symposium. A list of specific criteria by which the teams will be judged, as well as the criteria for tie-breaking, is distributed to all teams who participate. Trophies, plaques, and prizes are awarded to the top teams during the awards banquet.