Council Meetings

May 13 - 14, 2021


Thursday, May 13, 2021

To participate remotely:

  • Council Meeting ZOOM Link:
    • Meeting ID: 889 5304 6707
    • Passcode: 074043
  • US Toll-free: 833-548-0282, 877-853-5257, 888-475-4499, and 833-548-0276
    • If one phone number doesn’t work, it has likely reached capacity. Please try one of the other phone numbers.
9:30 a.m.

Council Business Meeting
  1. Call to Order, Corey Gilmore
  2. Roll Call and ZOOM Reminders, Kristin Vandagriff
  3. Land Acknowledgement, Anne Applegate
  4. Developmental Disabilities Shared Vision:
    Heidi Lieb-Williams, Vice Chair – “Alaskans share a vision of a flexible system in which each person directs their own supports, based on their strengths and abilities, toward a meaningful life in their home, their job and their community. Our vision includes supported families, professional staff and services available throughout the state now and into the future.”

    Corey Gilmore, Chair – “I like the life I choose with the supports I direct.”
  5. Announcements and Introductions
  6. Approval of February 2021 Meeting Minutes
    SAMPLE MOTION: I make a motion to approve the February 2021Council meeting minutes as presented.
  7. Approval of the Agenda
    SAMPLE MOTION: I make a motion to approve the Spring Council meeting agenda as presented.
  8. Conflict of Interest Declarations
  9. Chair/Executive Director Report, Corey Gilmore and Kristin Vandagriff

    ***Mini Stretch Break***

  10. FY22 Council Budget
    SAMPLE MOTION: I make a motion to approve the FY22 as presented.
  11. COVID-19 Update, Lanny Mommsen
  12. “Living Well on the Last Frontier” Update, Kristin Vandagriff
  13. Other New Business from the Floor

​10:30 a.m.

Vote for Council Officer Positions
  • Council Chair (2-year term) confirmation vote
  • Council Vice Chair (1-year term)
  • Council Legislative Committee Chair (1-year term)
    • Individual Polls Administered by Lanny Mommsen
11:00 a.m.

Outgoing Council Member and Staff Recognition, Corey Gilmore and Kristin Vandagriff

  • Meghan Clark
  • Josh Gill
  • David Kohler
  • Sydney Krebsbach
  • Anne Applegate

11:30 a.m.


12:30 p.m.

State 5-Year Plan Development Discussion, Anne Applegate  
  • State Plan Status Overview (Anne Applegate)
  • Recommendation from Executive Committee (Corey Gilmore, Kristin Vandagriff)
  • MOU/Assurances Update  (Kristin Vandagriff, John Lee)
  • Activities Discussion (Anne Applegate, Lanny Mommsen)
    • Questions or comments, five minutes per Council member
  • Final Vote on Activites (Anne Applegate, Corey Gilmore)
    • 15-minute break at 2:30 p.m.

3:45 p.m.


Reminder: Please sign out of the current Zoom and into the Public Testimony Zoom below.

4:00 p.m.

Public Testimony, Heidi Lieb-Williams, Vice Chair

  • Theme: COVID-19 Pandemic: How is it going over a year later? Are there service or other concerns?
  • Public Testimony ZOOM Link:
    • Meeting ID: 856 4211 9084
    • Passcode: 896416
  • US Toll-free: 877-853-5247, 833-548-0282, 888-475-4499, or 888-788-0099
    • If one number doesn't work, it means it is full; please use the second number.

4:30 p.m.


Friday, May 14, 2021

To participate remotely:

9:30 a.m.

Call to Order, Corey Gilmore
  • Roll call, announcements, & introductions
  • Changes to agenda, if any

9:45 a.m.
Bylaws Amendment (First Council Meeting Reading)
Anne Applegate

11:00 a.m.

Committee Updates (5-6 minutes each)

12:00 p.m.


    1:00 p.m.

    Partner Reports

    • 1-1:30PM: Division of Senior and Disabilities Services -
      John Lee, Director
    • 1:30-1:45PM: Department of Education and Early Development -
      Michael Johnson, Commissioner
    • 1:45-2:00 PM: Alaska Mental Health Trust Authority -
      Mike Abbott, Chief Executive Officer; Steve Williams, Chief Operating Officer; and Jimael Johnson, Program Officer
    • 2:00-2:15PM: Alaska Association on Developmental Disabilities- Lizette Stiehr, Executive Director
    • 2:15-2:30PM: Division of Vocational Rehabilitation -
      Duane Mayes, Director
    • 2:30-3:00PM: Department of Health and Social Services Update
      Adam Crum, Commissioner; Al Wall, Deputy Commissioner; Heather Carpenter, Deputy Commissioner
    • 3:00-3:15PM: Special Education Services Agency (SESA) Update
      Patrick Pillai, Director

    3:25 p.m. Vote on Fall 2-day Council meeting dates
    • Poll administered by Lanny Mommsen
    ​3:30 p.m. ​ADJOURN

    Schedule of Upcoming Council Meetings

    • September (TBD) 2021: Anchorage/ZOOM
    • February (TBD) 2022: Juneau/ZOOM
    • May (TBD) 20221: Anchorage/ZOOM

    Previous Council Meetings