Skip to content


Service High School Partners Club. 2017 Winners ​

Nikiski Middle/High School Intensive Needs Team, 
2016 Winners ​
2015 winners 
KeetGooshi Heen 
Elementary School in Sitka, 2015 winners. 
Monica Stockburger and Homer High School Intensive Needs Classroom staff, 2014 winners.

2017 Inclusive Practice Award

The 2017 winner of the Inclusive Practice Award is the Service High School Partners Club.

The Service High School Partners Club started in 2001. This team is made up of 30 students with intellectual disabilities, 8 staff members, 72 peer teachers and 100 partners that work together on educational goals, life skills activities and community inclusion. Led by Adam Ahonen, The Partners Club works to develop activities that both promote awareness and inclusion.  The Partners Club utilizes a unique learning model in which students from the general education population partner with students in the life skills program to be “Peer Teachers”.  The Partner’s Club also has a Coffee Shop, a Special Olympics group, and works with multiple sports teams. This has led to a school culture at Service High where students with disabilities are actively included in school assemblies, drama productions, choir, Prom and dances, sporting events and after school activities. 

The Governor’s Council on Disabilities and Special Education would like to commend the other 2017 Inclusive Practice Award nominees:

  • Monique Christiansen, Palmer Junior Middle School, Palmer

Intensive Needs Program

  • Deb Evensen,  Homer

FASD educator and consultanat

  • Gail Greenhalagh,  SERRC, Juneau

Alaska Transition Outcomes Project (ATOP) Coordinator

  • Jennifer Hilder and Pam Penrose, Craig Elementary & Craig Middle School, Craig


  • Hope School Team, Hope

Patricia Truesdell, Sandra Barron, Diane Olthuis, Eugene, Moseley, and Sara Fortin

  • Pauline Johnson, Angoon Elementary, Angoon


  • Lisa Kelzenberg, Eagle River High School, Eagle River

Adaptive Physical Education Teacher

  • Robyn Meyer, Northwood ABC Elementary, Anchorage

Pre-school teacher

  • Nikolaevsk School Instructional Team, Nikolaevsk

Robanne Stading, Jared Copeland, Kelli Hickman, Steve Klaich, Heather Pancratz, Krista Parrett, Michael Sellers, Jeri Trail

  • Paul Banks Elementary Special Education Department, Homer
  • Ray Archuleta, Stephanie Fain, Melissa Gersdorf, Mindy Hunter, Monica Glenn, Donna Sander, Amy Sundheim, Melissa Arno, Vicki Berney, Daniel Bunker, Bobby Copeland-McKinney, Luke Eckert, Anna Germundson, Noreen O’Brien-Dugan, Jennifer Poss, Katy Rice, Kristi Wickstrom
  • Katherine Pittman, Glacier Valley Elementary, Juneau

Special Education teacher

  • Amanda Rugg, Bowman Elementary, Anchorage

Structured Learning Classroom teacher

  • Sally Stockhausen, Kayhi High School, Ketchikan

Teacher and team leader

  • Tri-Valley School Team, Healy

JoHanna Sesito, Bonny Hamm and Angelica Hayes, Ivana Haverlikova, Natile Brandt, Erinn Martin, Jennifer Hancock, Sarah Walker, Jody Stamps and Danielle Talerico

  • Christine Zelinsky, Dimond High School, Anchorage

Department Chair and Brandy Jones, Steven Odom, Tracie Ashman, and Anne Paley

The Inclusive Practices Award recognizes outstanding educators who work to ensure students with disabilities have the opportunity for an inclusive education in the general education curriculum. The nominations are based on the following activities that assure a positive learning environment for all:

  • Involving parents as equal partner in their child’s education
  • Promoting inclusive practices that allow students with disabilities to be included within the classroom, with peers and in the school community
  • Modifying curricula or providing support services that enables access to the regular curriculum or classroom

If you know any of these great educators please be sure and congratulate them on their amazing job of educating children with all different kinds of abilities!



Some Service High School Partners Club members and staff attended the Award Ceremony