Indian Child Welfare


About Us

The State of Alaska Department of Health & Social Services (DHSS), Office of Children's Services (OCS) strongly supports the Indian Child Welfare (ICWA) and continues to build federal ICWA mandates into all levels of OCS Child Welfare. We continue to develop positive collaborative and communicative partnerships with all Native o rganizations and Alaska Native Tribal organizations.

Upcoming Events

  • ICWA II Training
    December 5-7, 2023
  • ICWA II Training
    February 27-29, 2024
    April 7-10, 2024
  • ICWA II Training
    May 21-23, 2024
  • ICWA II Training
    October 1-3, 2024
  • ICWA II Training
    December 10-12, 2024

Current news and information on Indian Child Welfare, Institutional Racism, and Alaska Native issues

Quick Facts for Alaska

  • American Indian or Alaska Native is identified as one of the categories of race by the Federal government.
  • There are 229 federally recognized Tribes in Alaska, out of the “Alaska Native” demographic. There are many more Tribes but not federally recognized.
  • There are many different ethnicities of Alaska Native people identified. (Athabascan, Yup'ik, Cup’ik, Inupiaq, Unangax/Aleut, Alutiiq/Sugpiaq, Eyak, Tlingit, Haida, Tsimshian)